Skip to content

P Sherman 42 Wallaby Way Sydney

February 24, 2009

The first wine featured is a 2006 Cigale Shiraz from the Barossa Valley in Southern Australia, one of the oldest Shiraz vineyards in the world. Little did I know that shiraz and syrah are actually the same grape. Shiraz references the Australian variety while its synonym syrah is typically used for wines produced in the U.S., France and other countries. When in doubt, Google knows everything. I mean everything. Google knows what you’re doing right now so if it’s something risque, you better stop. I’m telling.

Geographically speaking, the Barossa Valley is on the opposite side of P. Sherman 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney, comparable to the distance from Charlotte to Northern Maine. To drive from Charlotte to the Barossa Valley, it would take about 55 days to travel the 16,000 miles. So unless you want to fall off the face of the earth attempting to drive across the Pacific Ocean, your best bet is to hop in a plane to get there. If your last name is the same as mine, you might need to hop in multiple planes, sleep in a few mangy hotels, wallow in your own filth and throw some boisterous temper tantrums in each of the world’s airport bars to get there. But to think, that little bottle of wine traveled 16,000 miles to get in my belly. As we Southerners like to say, bless you child.

cigale-copy

Let’s get back to the task at hand, the 2006 Cigale Shiraz: “Firm in texture, with ripe cherry and pomegranate flavors at the core, shaded with savory tobacco and bittersweet chocolate notes as the finish lingers. Best from 2009 through 2014.”

Well, seeing as it is 2009, my husband and I didn’t wait too long to crack open the bottle. At first taste, I got the spice part but I tasted vanilla not chocolate. I’m still wondering where the tobacco reference came from. Who gave Lindsay Lohan the labelmaker? The reference to pomegranate seems more accurate because it did make my lips smack. I’m guessing that’s what they mean.

Suffice it to say, it was rather delicious. I’m not sure if the finish lingered as fast as I gulped it down, but I found it to be very good. I paired it with a peppercorn beef tenderloin because, frankly, it just seemed fitting for a February winter’s evening. It was.

I purchased the bottle at Reid’s Fine Foods for $22.99. That is indeed pricier than I normally spend on wine. (Bank of America’s stock must have been higher than $5 that day.) Or, maybe it was that fabulous little sign that said “Wine Spectator: 89 points.” Since I hardly ever remember what I read in Wine Spectator, these handy signs are genius.

Reid’s has incredible cuts of meat, by the way. The butcher gives really helpful advice on preparing and cooking the meat. He even gave me some free blackening seasoning one day. By free, I mean, yes, I had to show some skin. By skin, yes the chicken breasts I purchased. Everything comes at a price, honey. 

To get you through the mid-week slump, head on over to Reid’s for wine tastings every Wednesday 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm. It’s recession friendly,  too, at only $10!  

Happy Sipping.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. theartfulabode permalink
    February 25, 2009 8:51 pm

    Oo this one sounds yummy. I’ll have to try it sometime! And maybe hit up the Reid’s guy in my Sunday’s finest to get something fo’ free. 🙂

  2. Pam Wagner permalink
    February 28, 2009 4:41 pm

    What about Boones Farm?

Leave a Reply

