Skip to content

Afternoon Delight with a Shelton Vineyard Chardonnay

February 25, 2009

shelton-copyWine: 2006 Bin 117 Chardonnay, American
Vineyard: Shelton Vineyards in Dobson, NC
Distance Traveled to Get in my Belly: a whopping 87 miles
Place of Purchase: From the wine lady at the Harris Teeter on East Boulevard 
Price: on sale for $9.99

I stumbled across this wine as I was going through grocery shopping mayhem at the Harris Teeter on East Blvd. I loathe trips to the grocery store especially when it’s a bumper car fight to the finish to score a parking spot. One of these days I will get knocked up so I can park in the expecting mother spot. Shame on those of you who park there who aren’t with child. These women can’t drink wine, people! For the love of the grape, let them have their parking spot.

Nevertheless, the wine lady managed to convince me to purchase the Shelton Chardonnay. I mistakenly thought she was going to make me try those Georgian wines that Harris Teeter was featuring for a while. Yick! I would rather drink gasoline. The wine lady and I both agreed that they were “different.” In the wine world, I think that means ugly stepchild, black sheep, etc. After discovering the commonality between us, the wine lady and I were old pal sommeliers taking a jaunt out on the vineyard. As she poured my cup of the riesling, we also agreed it was a bit too sweet for our liking. “Our liking!” … I love my new best friend. I also love a good chardonnay, so once that little plastic cup hit my lips, it was like Ron Burgundy singing “Afternoon Delight” in my living room. I was sold.

The wine lady mentioned that the Bin 117 is an unoaked chardonnay which is maybe why I like it – that fruity goodness. Don’t mistake fruity for sweet. Evidently, there is a difference. Originated in the Burgundy region of France, chardonnay is the world’s most popular white wine grape most likely due to the fact that it’s easy to grow.

Where is the Burgundy region in France?

Note to self: Begin growing chardonnay grapes in townhouse. Furthermore, chardonnay serves as a base for many champagnes and sparkling wines. Perhaps that’s where my love for sparkling wines comes from! There are over 300,000 acres of chardonnay grapes grown throughout the world.

The Bin 117 chardonnay won the NC Commercial Wine Competition’s Silver Medal in 2007. If I do say so myself, put it on your TO DO list and try it.

Stay tuned to Uncorked! A visit to the NC vineyards is in my near future and of course I will share my experiences with you all.

Until then, happy sipping!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Becks permalink
    February 25, 2009 8:31 pm

    When you come to NYC- you can do an “on the road” wine segment. I will begin lining up venues.

Leave a Reply

