Skip to content

Excellence Resorts, Not So Excellent Wine

March 13, 2009

We’re back from viva-ing la Mexico. Let me just say, the resort was incredible, over-the-top, God’s country, creme de la creme, you get the picture. Speaking of pictures, this one is priceless.

img_10051

Note: Richard was not aware that his hat read “Viva Mexico” until after the picture was taken.

The food was excellent. The lunch buffet had everything from guacamole to pizza to sushi to custom pasta dishes to heaven in my mouth. Stuffing myself silly is an understatement. I should have rolled off the plane to Charlotte. “Get the fork lift, Johnny, here comes a big one!”

On the other hand, the wine, not so over the top. First off, the chardonnay and sauvignon blancs were served at rather warm temperatures. The sparkling was not dry enough for me, rather too sweet. The cabernet was drinkable but then I got mad at this red varietal when it decided to fall down the front of my freshly ironed, crisp white pants. Bad cabernet!

I also got angry with the chardonnay after the all-inclusive waiters over-served me at the discoteca. I suppose the chardonnay was drinkable then, too. Who can resist free wine? If you have self-control (obviously something I lack), please share the love.

antares1

All of the mentioned varietals came from the Antares brand in Chile. Usually, I like Chilean wines, but I was not a fan.  Google did not have that much information on it either so I’m sorry to disappoint you, folks. All I can say is if you stumble across it, try it yourself and see what you think.

Despite my bad wine experience, I highly recommend the Excellence Resorts. The service was impeccable. When you wanted food, it was like the road runner sped away and dropped a plate full of delectable goodness in your lap. Need a beverage at 9 am in the morning? The waiters are there in full force. Personal butt wiper? Wax on. Wax off. Balloon animal shaped like the Statue of David? Excellence has it all. Anything you could ever ask for, the Excellence staff is there to please.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. theartfulabode permalink
    March 13, 2009 9:37 pm

    I admit I had a hard time focusing on the rest of your post after that picture – it’s hilarious! Glad to hear you had a good time, despite the not so great wine. Good service and food makes up for that though, right? Maybe….

  2. Becks permalink
    March 16, 2009 4:16 pm

    That picture is priceless. Viva Richard(o)!

Leave a Reply

