Skip to content

The Brenda in this Walsh

May 22, 2009

I’m no chef. I just like food. They don’t call me Heavy Evie for nothin’! I love to make salads, one-dish wonders, soups, chilis, stir fry, risottos, pasta creations, etc. Anything that is in my fridge or pantry and can be thrown in one pot is a flavor explosion in my mouth. It’s typically pretty healthy unless I go postal on the cheese (known to happen). I’d also like to “think” it’s healthy because again, they don’t call me Heavy Evie for nothing (tear).

Today, I decided to whip up a mexi-slaw for lunch. Sounds weird, but at first taste, surprisingly bueno. Cue: dancing sombreros and mariachi band. It would probably taste even better with the Meridian Chardonnay that I enjoyed at Cantina 1511 last night, but since it’s 10:32 am, I will refrain. Value add: Meridian Vineyards is having a Memorial Day sale on select wines! They have an interesting white cabernet. Has the cabernet sauvignon gone albino? Get ’em while they’re fragrant!   

Here’s the recipe. All items were found in our fridge from leftover creations that I made through out the week. Oh, and I don’t really measure, I just throw it in and taste test. Geee, and I wonder where the Heavy in my Evie came from.

Heavy Evie’s Mexi-Slaw

The Goods:

1/2 bag of broccoli slaw (found at Trader Joe’s)
1/2 cup of black beans (give or take a few) 
1/2 tomato or more
1/2 green pepper (use yellow, red or orange to make it a more colorful dish) 
1/4 large onion 
1.5 avocados 
lime vinaigrette (part evoo, part red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, garlic and lime juice)

This How We Do It, It’s Friday Night
Put it in a bowl, toss it up, taste test and serve. Can’t get any better than that!

Notes: Adding cilantro would really put the tootsie in this pop, the swine in this flu, the Brenda in this Walsh … I think you get the idea.

… The albino cab has got me intrigued … will go on a wunt (wine-hunt) this weekend and report back. Until then, happy sipping! 

Poor Andrea, she's not cool enough to show her boobs off like the rest of 'em ... even Steve is sporting some moobs (man boobs)

Poor Andrea, she's not cool enough to show off her boobs like the rest of 'em ... even Steve is sporting some moobs (man boobs) ... Whoah! Check out the rack on Dylan!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

