Skip to content

Preparing for Pops – Part I

June 14, 2009

Lately, I have been having fears that I forgot to wear pants. But, then I grab my right thigh, and there they are … my pants. This fear must have a deeper meaning like I’m missing something. So, I overcompensated by totally going overboard for Pops this evening. Check out the menu:

Weingut Michlits 2007 Pinot Noir Frizzante Rose from Austria – Yes, “the hills are alive” with this sparkling rose, pinot noir. We haven’t popped it open yet but the owner of the Dilworth Wine Shop recommended the $16.99 wonder. I have a feeling, I am going to break out into full on Edelweiss after tasting this Austrian bad boy. Stay tuned.  
Dill Orzo Shrimp Salad
Corn Salad with Cilantro Dressing
Gain Some Pounds-Cake
– this cake warrants its own post so check out Pops Part II.

I am really proud of how everything turned out so I figured I’d share the recipes with my whopping two readers. Enjoy.

Heavy Evie Eats Part Trois

Dill Orzo and Shrimp Salad

My mom makes this salad for our family lake trips. We love our cold salads, better yet, we just love our food. I called her up and asked for the recipe. She tells me “add a little bit of this, a little bit of that, taste test and add more or less of this and that.”  Oh, I can handle the taste testing part, Ma. Let’s see how I handle the rest.  

The Goods

  • A bag of frozen raw shrimp (fresh shrimp if you must keep up with the Jones’)
  • 1 lb. of orzo (looks like rice … walks like rice, but it’s not. It’s rice-shaped pasta)
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 cup of celery
  • Fresh Dill
  • Light Mayonnaise (Using light mayo makes me feel better about myself. If you’re really feeling like a humpback whale, try Miracle Whip.)
  • Light Sour Cream (Fat free sour cream tastes like bad milk on rotten fruit. C’mon Mary Kate, you can handle the light.)  
  • Lemon and lemon rind

Boil the shrimp until they are pink. Cook the orzo like regular pasta. If you’re like me, let the water boil over the pot causing a complete, starchy mess and the win-o to go into a full-on cleaning frenzy.

Rinse the orzo off with cold water. Chop up the cooked shrimp. Chop the onion and celery. Throw everything into a big bowl. Add about 1/2 cup of mayonnaise, 1/4 cup of sour cream, and 1/4 cup of dill. Eyeball the measurements. Remember you can always add more. Stir. Add juice of one lemon and grated lemon rind. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir. Taste. Is it good? If not, add more lemon, mayo, sour cream or salt n’ pepa.  

Spring Fun 2009 010

keeping my win-o fed is a full-time job but someone's gotta do it

keeping my win-o fed is a full-time job but someone's gotta do it

Corn Salad with Cilantro Dressing

No story behind this work of art, I truly just made it up. The win-o might get some action for schmoozing me, “Usually your Evie creations are the best dishes!”

Corn Salad Goods

  • Bag of frozen corn (Again, if you must keep up with the Jones’, use fresh ears of corn. Keep in mind the Jones’ would probably hire someone to shuck, cut and make this dish.)
  • 1/4 onion
  • 1/2 red pepper
  • Tomato

Defrost the corn. Chop up the onion, red pepper and tomato. Throw in a bowl. Mix it around.

Cilantro Dressing Goods

  • 1/2 cup of cilantro
  • Jalapeno
  • Sour cream
  • Juice of one lime and lime rind
  • Garlic 
  • EVOO

Using a blender or food procesor, pulse the cilantro, jalapeno, our cream, lime and lime rind and garlic. When it has a saucy consistency, add the EVOO while pulsing. I probably used less than 1/4 cup of EVOO. Add salt and pepper. Taste. Add the sauce to the corn salad. Serve with tortilla chips or inhale it on its own.

Spring Fun 2009 007

green as money

 

pepper, onion and tomato

pepper, onion and tomato

 

the finished product ... and I am salivating

the finished product ... and I am salivating

One Comment leave one →
  1. theartfulabode permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:24 pm

    man, your pops grub really makes my harris teeter subs and guacamole look saaaaad. and as for the rebranding (i’m commenting on two posts at once – rebel!) can you combine all of those items (food, entertaining, etc) into one incredibly awesome blog? that’s my vote. 🙂

Leave a Reply

