Skip to content

Preparing for Pops – Part II

June 15, 2009

I’m thinking about a re-brand of the ol’ blog to Heavy Evie Eats, Entertaining by Evie, Edible by Evie, etc. I’d bring you wine, food, drinks and parties. Thoughts? Sounds better than an all-you-can-eat-and-drink buffet with the 90210 marathon running on flat screens to me. Please vote.

For Part II of Preparing for Pops, I am featuring the Gain Some Pounds Cake. I love to cook, but baking doesn’t come as easy. It usually results in swearing, tears, a little more swearing and flour in places I’ve never even seen. Luckily, I had a little help from my friend the 2007 Sterling Vintner’s Chardonnay. Here’s the rundown.

Gain Some Pounds Cake

Not only did I have help from the chardonnay, I also used Johnnie Gabriel’s Cooking in the South pound cake recipe, but I omitted ‘this’ and added ‘that’ to make it my own. Johnnie is a dear friend of the Hagood family, and she is also cousin to Paula Dean. It comes as no surprise that most of her recipes require mayonnaise, butter and more butter. Despite the buttery, mayo-ness, this cook book has some amazing recipes. She is truly a talented cook.

The Goods

  • 2 sticks of butter at room temp
  • 1/4 cup of applesauce
  • 3 cups of sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 3.5 cups of all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of pure lemon extract
  • 1 cup of skim milk

I made myself feel better by using applesauce and skim milk in lieu of oil and whole milk. We’ll just disregard the fact that the cake still has two sticks of butter and five eggs. 

For you lucky, fortunate folks who have KitchenAid mixers, this recipe should whip up pretty quickly. Unfortunately, I do not have a KitchenAid mixer so it took me a bit longer, and it made a bigger mess. Hint, hint, win-o.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Grease a bundt pan (like ‘boondt’ from My Big Fat Greek Wedding). Sprinkle flour on the sides of the pan to get it good and lubed up. Tap out any excess flour.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and the applesauce on medium until light and fluffy. Refrain from sexual comment that the win-o made (use your imagination). Slowly add the sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time and beat well after each addition.

In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. I don’t have a sifter so I just toss the flour around with a fork. I didn’t have a large enough bowl, so flour was everywhere. Cue swearing. In another bowl, add milk, vanilla extract and lemon extract. At a medium speed, slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in increments alternating with the milk mixture. Do not over beat. Beat until the batter does not have any lumps of flour.

Taste the batter. Who cares if it contains raw eggs? Bring it on, salmonella. If it tastes good, cue tears of happiness. If it tastes bad, signal tears of remorse. Pour the batter into your “boondt” pan. Place in oven. Bake for 70 to 75 minutes. Insert a toothpick into cake to test. If there is no wet batter remaining, take it out and cool on rack for 10 to 15 minutes. Sprinkle powdered sugar on top to make it look pretty. Gulp your wine down for the love of the labor.

Serve with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and whipped cream, or gobble it up on its own.

Don't be jealous of the apron.

Don't be jealous of the apron.

juggling two bowls with the left hand and the mixer with the right ... I got mad skillz

Action shot: Look closely and you can see the batter splattering out of the bowl. This is when the win-o began to have chest palpitations.

 

"Aww, honey, you baked" - Infamous lines from Clueless

"Aww, honey, you baked" - Infamous lines from Clueless

my saving grace when it comes to baking

my saving grace when it comes to baking

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

