Skip to content

Prequel to Kiwanis Uptown’s Southern Summer

June 18, 2009

A co-worker e-mailed me yesterday, “Were you able to make this label for me? I hadn’t heard back from you on this request. Thank you kindly.” After stabbing my eyeball with a lunch fork, I took a deep breath and made the label. After all, I minored in label-making in college, a skill totally worth the $100 grand.

My glass of 2007 Villa Maria Private Bin Sauvignon Blanc from Marlborough, New Zealand was the perfect anecdote to a long week. It won Wine Enthusiast’s New World Wine of the Year. The lusciously long and zesty palate really took the pain out of said eyeball stabbing.

It’s been a busy few days. Our Kiwanis club has been preparing for our Charter Event for weeks now. I’m up to my ears in ribbon and paper. I have glue in crevices that I’ve never even seen (Note: rubber cement fumes and wine don’t mix well). My e-mail just vomited all over my computer. I pulled a Brenda Walsh on the win-o (sorry, win-o).

Needless to say, we are really excited because it’s all for an amazing cause. We are helping send chronically handicapped and terminally ill children to Disney World via Grin Kids, and we’re doing it in a classy way. Oh, the childhood memories of Disney World and that half a hotdog and cheese fries after spinning around on the teacups! Poor hotdog, never saw it coming.

In keeping with the Southern tradition, there will be wine, beer, mini-corn dogs, mini-quesadillas and dancing for only $25, in addition to a silent auction and raffle. For the silent auction, I have my eye on a Nike sports package. With all of my wining and dining, I’m looking more like Free Willy by the second. Prompt whale sound. I also have my eye on a Rooster tie for the win-o compliments of Southern Proper; it’s like the Vineyard Vines of the South. And of course, I’ll purchase way too many raffle tickets for the Dilworth Wine Shop, Carpe Diem, and Brixx Pizza gift certificates. Mama’s feelin’ lucky tonight!

Caution: Wine in large doses, especially when drunk from Mason jar, may induce Double Dutch jump roping with an invisible line. Jump rope is more likely to occur when the tune “My Milkshake” airs. Invisible line jump roping has also been known to bring Elvis back from the dead. Read more about invisible jump roping here.

See you all there!

there's a wine bar behind there somewhere

there's a wine bar behind there somewhere

 

Don't worry, the body tremors have stopped. The win-o will be OK once the mess has left the building.

Don't worry, the body tremors have stopped. The win-o will be OK once the mess has left the building.

 

check out the goods!

check out the goods!

One Comment leave one →
  1. theartfulabode permalink
    June 18, 2009 6:49 pm

    man you guys are in full party planning mode. sorry we’re going to miss the event – we’ll be spending the night packing and getting everything together for my sister’s shower. 😛 and is that the new flooring I see? yum. 🙂

Leave a Reply

