Skip to content

Easier Than Pie

June 25, 2009

I’m no geometrical wizard or mathematician, but luckily, I have mastered the meaning of pie. Key lime, that is. By far, this pie was my best baking experience to date. I did a little happy dance, and the dog joined me. The pie was already finished by the time the win-o came home from running a quick errand. He was so elated that we made out in a fit of key lime passion. Prompt 80s make-out scene.

Key Lime Passion

  • 14-ounce can of sweetened condensed milk (no clue what this is, but you can find it in the baking aisle)
  • Three egg yolks (Four, if you don’t split the yolk from the white very well. Oops!)
  • ½ cup of key lime juice (I used Nellie and Joe’s Famous Key Lime Juice. Great recipes on this site, by the way.)
  • 9-inch graham cracker piecrust
  • ReddiWhip for topping (Omit for topless.)
  • Sliced limes for garnish
  • Fork for inhaling

Confession: I don’t always follow directions very well. In fact, I have been known to get lost in a box. I once got lost in our own neighborhood. Luckily, the win-o embedded a tracking device in my brain. I forget who I am every time the doorbell rings, but he can totally find me anywhere.

Learning Lesson: Don’t be like me. Follow the baking instructions on the graham cracker crust and bake it. I forgot. Some of my crust crumbled on to the lovely filling and I swore a little. Baking the crust will help it stay together.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine condensed milk, egg yolks and key lime juice. Blend until smooth. Pour batter into BAKED (think hippie) piecrust. Bake for 10 minutes. Let it stand for 10 minutes. Garnish with sliced limes. Cool in fridge. Serve with whipped cream after a few hours. Make out with your win-o or next door neighbor for a job well done.

easier than pie

easier than pie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

