Skip to content

Blueberry-Orange Bread

December 18, 2009

You know what really irks me? The lack of “thank you” signal usage when driving. If I let you into my lane, I expect a gentle wave, a twittering of the headlights, a salute, a Christmas ham, SOMETHING that acknowledges my generosity. Yet, it’s always nothing. Such a crazy world we live in. No nod, no wave, no flashing of the headlights, no tap on the horn, no salute, no ham, nothing. Whatever happened to Southern hospitality?

I’m bringin’ it back. Next time I get that very warranted “thank you,” I’m chucking this blueberry-orange bread loaf at your car. Let’s consider it paying it forward via blueberries, orange-flavored, vanilla breakfast bread. I will be like the paper lady, yet delivering succulent bread to all those who deserve it. So, keep your windows open, give me the thank you gesture, and the favor will be returned.  Oh yes, it will be returned. Blueberry-orange bread for everyone.

Blueberry-Orange Bread

Last time I was visiting the family, I came across an old notebook of my mom’s with recipes. I’m not sure if she contrived this on her own or if she found it somewhere else, but it’s good. Good enough to thank someone for saying thank you.

  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • ¼ cup of boiling water
  • 4 teaspoons of grated orange rind
  • 2/3 cup orange juice
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 cups of sifted flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoon of baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon of baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of fresh blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons of honey

 Melt butter in boiling water in small bowl. Add orange juice and three teaspoons of rind. In a separate bowl, beat egg with sugar until light and fluffy. Add sifted dry ingredients alternately with orange liquid, beating until smooth. Fold in berries. Bake in greased loaf pan at 350 degrees for about 70 minutes. Turn out on rack or tray. Mix honey and remaining 2 tablespoons of orange juice and 1 teaspoon of rind. Spoon over hot loaf. Let stand until cold.

A great bread for the holidays

Orange you glad I baked this bread?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

