Skip to content

Internet Hiatus

December 23, 2009

I am taking a little Internet hiatus for Christmas, and I’m bringing these Hanky Pankies with me. Hanky Pankies are a major tradition in my extended family. They are a right of passage. My grandparents brought Hanky Pankies with them to every party, gathering, birthday, wedding, baptism, Christmas, birth, Yom Kippur, Groundhog Day, funeral, etc. I wouldn’t be surprised if Grandma carried them in her purse. Emergency back-up. They are a fabulous party food, and the name is a conversation piece in itself. In fact, if you google “hanky panky,” you’ll find everything from a 1982 film starring Gene Wilder to lacy underwear. Should I be concerned?

Hanky Pankies

The recipe below is a healthier alternative, although a pound of cheese isn’t necessarily what I would call diet food. My grandparents typically used beef and Italian sausage and my grandma always added a little garlic and onion. Since I add garlic and onion to everything including ice cream, I decided to omit.

  • 1 lb. turkey sausage
  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 lb. Velveeta cheese
  • Rye cocktail bread

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large skillet, sauté the sausage and turkey until it’s brown. Add the cheese until it melts. Spread the mixture on cocktail bread. Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Cut the squares into triangles. Serve.

Make Ahead: They are actually better if you freeze them before serving. Instead of baking right away, let them cool, store them in a container and freeze them. When you’re ready to serve, bake them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes. Cut into triangles.

And you do the hanky panky and you turn yourself around ... that's what it's all about!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:49 pm

    YUUMMM. I love Hanky Pankies. Can you please bring them home now? I want one.

    ohh, yeah, hanky panky!

  2. Becky permalink
    December 23, 2009 4:36 pm

    Funny….I’d love some Hanky Panky for Christmas. Or anytime, really. 🙂 Happy Holidays!

  3. Ruthie permalink
    December 24, 2009 2:12 am

    I think these would be great with a kick…tabasco or salsa?

  4. ehagood permalink*
    December 24, 2009 2:57 am

    Or red pepper flakes!

Leave a Reply

