Skip to content

2010 Food-olutions

January 4, 2010
  1. Use less cheese. My obsession with cheese has gone completely overboard. Call me Amy Cheesehouse and send me to rehab. Therefore, I will attempt the “less is more” approach.
  2. Prepare a curry dish to commemorate our trip to India in May 2010.
  3. Portion control. I tend to shovel my food like a bulldozer in quicksand. It’s got to stop. I need to savor the flavor and slow it down a notch.
  4. Provide you all with a “How To” video. Suggestions? Please comment.
  5. Use better judgement for healthier alternatives. Perhaps try to bake with less oil, butter and fats. Not to make excuses but I refuse to use a sugar substitute. Do more with vegetables like radicchio, swiss chard, fennel, etc. Giada’s Family Dinners has some flavorful options that I will explore.  
  6. Cook a rack of lamb. I’ve never done this before. Recipe ideas? There’s a good looking recipe in the How to Roast a Lamb cookbook. Go figures.
  7. Take better pictures of these marvelous meals with my pimp daddy of a new camera. Please disregard the picture below. This was in my archives.
  8. Reach 100 fans on Facebook. Help me!  See fan link to the right.
  9. Attempt preparing duck. I love some Daffy, Donald and Daisy, and I’d love to learn how to cook and eat all three of them.
  10. Master the art of cooking fish. I’m getting better at not overcooking fish. I’d like to master all things Nemo. Give the recipe below a whirl and let me know how it turns out.

Any other suggestions for me in 2010? Bring them on. Please.

Feta Cheese Topped Tilapia

I believe this recipe is from a Weight Watchers cookbook. My mom used to make it quite frequently so I just prepared it by memory. 

  • 1 yellow squash
  • 8 oz of fresh tilapia
  • Butter
  • 1 tablespoon of blackening seasoning
  • ¼ cup of onion
  • ¼ cup of green pepper
  • ¼ cup of frozen corn
  • 2 tablespoons of kalamata olives
  • 2 ounces of feta cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice squash and place at the bottom of a casserole dish. Coat tilapia in butter and blackening rub. Chop up the onion and green pepper. Sprinkle the onion, pepper, corn and olives over the tilapia. Top with feta cheese. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. Serve over rice or cous cous.   

The vegetables, olives and cheese really pump up the volume in the tilapia.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    January 4, 2010 9:12 pm

    Do I detect a sliver of fish under all that color? Sounds good, and I am definitely going to try it.Talipia is one of my favorites……I pan grill it with Garlic pepper, a little butter, and fresh lime juice (1 whole lime on four filets).
    I think rack of lamb and duck are worth going to a good resturant for….I’ll be watching for your effort report. Have you ever cooked lamb shanks? Very easy…..brown in small amount of lite olive oil, place in small roasting pan on rack, add water to the bottom of the pan not letting it touch the meat, cook for about 21/2-3 hours at 350. The meat will just fall off of the bone and most of the fat will cook out. Serve with mint jelly (Tom’s favorite with lamb), wild rice, steamed brocolli.

  2. sarah permalink
    January 6, 2010 3:22 am

    video! i vote for video! preferably of you making something very messy. happy new year evie!!

Trackbacks

  1. Bucket O’ KFC without the Grease « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

