Skip to content

Mariachi Band in Your Mouth

January 8, 2010

Ever had a word you just enjoyed saying out loud? Its pronunciation and syllables just roll off your tongue, and you just want to repeat it forever and ever. When I was younger, my word was gin.gi.vi.tis. I heard it on a Listerine commercial. Forgive me if I didn’t know what it meant. I was four. Ok, maybe that was yesterday.  

But, today, my word has changed. Now it’s guac.a.mol.e. Say it out loud with me. Do you love it, too? You can even abbreviate it. Guac.

My sister and I like to pretend we are Romy and Michelle and talk about guac and eat guac. When we’re finished, we walk off the guac, while chanting “Walk the Guac.” Yes, you can punch us for being so juvenile. Please. Give it your best shot. Take out Alice first though. She’s cuter. Thanks. When you’re done, try out my guac.a.mol.e.

Authentic Mexican Guacamole

My favorite Mexican restaurant in Charlotte prepares guacamole tableside with pico de gallo, lime juice, salt, avocados and jalapeno. It tastes like a Mariachi band in your mouth; watch out for those sombreros.

Guacamole can be made in several ways. The key to a solid verde guacamole is the avocados. They must be ripe and you must serve the guacamole immediately after preparing or they will brown. Brown guac equals no bueno.

I only recently started eating guacamole, and now I can’t stop.

  • Half of a chopped yellow onion
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 2 jalapeno peppers
  • 2 chopped tomatoes
  • 3 avocados
  • Handful of chopped cilantro
  • Juice of half a lime 
  • Salt and pepper

Chop the onion. Chop the pepper. Chop the tomatoes. Combine in a bowl. Cut the avocados in half, and scoop out the insides using a spoon. To remove the pit, stab the blade of your knife into the pit and twist your knife. Works like a charm.

Add the avocados, cilantro, lime juice, salt and pepper. Pulse blend with an immersion blender slowly. If you’re not part of the cool crowd like me (I have never been one for the popular crowd), stir and mush together using two forks or a molcajete.

What’s your secret to great guac? Spill it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruthie permalink
    January 8, 2010 4:18 pm

    Couple of hints:
    After cutting avoc. in half, stab pit and remove. Cut avocado into 1/4’s and just PEEL the skin away. Easy breezy. Then to prevent browning and thus save for 1 day, put the pit into the bowl of guac. and cover with saran wrap, making sure that it touches the green goodness.

    You can get really decadent w/guac by adding scallions instead of onions, and a few crumbled slices of cooked BACON (yum). I add chopped tomatoes when in season as well.

    I prefer my guac. chunky. So I mush the first avocado well with other ingredients then dice the remaining avocadoes and add to it.

    Cumin is a nice addition as well.

    • ehagood permalink*
      January 8, 2010 4:20 pm

      Bacon sounds like an excellent addition! Thanks for the tips.

      • Ruthie permalink
        January 8, 2010 4:24 pm

        Bacon is good in ANYTHING!

  2. theartfulabode permalink
    January 8, 2010 5:19 pm

    I always add cumin and chopped tomatoes as well. Yummmm.

    • ehagood permalink*
      January 8, 2010 5:21 pm

      I’m a dunce. I did use chopped tomatoes. I kept thinking I was forgetting something when writing the recipe. OOps.

  3. Alice permalink
    January 8, 2010 7:26 pm

    Walk the guac. Walk the guac.

    YUMM..I had guac yesterday on my salmon. Today, I walked off the guac. . .and the wine. . .and the beer.

Leave a Reply

