Skip to content

Dancing with Turkey Meatloaf

March 12, 2010

I have this reoccurring daymare of stumbling into the men’s bathroom at work by mistake. It’s never happened. I am just, what you like to call–paranoid, anxious, over-cautious, scared of my own shadow. It’s gotten to the point where I’ll go to the lady’s room and think to myself, Holy, paranoia, Batman! Am I in the men’s room? Are those men’s shoes?!? I must wait until person-that-might-be-a-man-but-is-not has left. Thank god. It left. Ahh … relief at the sight of the feminine products machine. Whew. I’m OK. I will be OK. Maybe it’s the result of too many cheesy, teen movies where the guy always goes into the girl’s bathroom by mistake. Yes, I need to cool it with the teen movies.

Does this happen to you?  Probably not. Because. I. am. strange. But you already knew that. Now that we’ve graced the topic of strange. Don’t you find meat in a loaf form rather peculiar? I always have; perhaps that’s why I’m not too privy towards the ol’ meat served in bread-like fashion. Regardless, the ‘Puter Hub loves meatloaf so we gave it a whirl, turkey style.

The result: juicy bites of ground turkey with salty olives and punchy prosciutto topped off with a sweet tomato finish. Oh, you glorious loaf of meat, let’s go dancing! We danced in my mouth, and I won.   

Turkey Prosciutto Meatloaf

Adapted from the Barefoot Contessa

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/2 chopped onion
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of thyme
  • 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup of chicken stock
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
  • 1 lb. of ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup of Panko bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 3 large squirts of ketchup
  • 1/4 cup of chopped green olives
  • 2 slices of prosciutto

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. In a small skillet, sauté the onions in olive oil, salt and pepper and thyme for 3-4 minutes until transluscent. Add the next three ingredients and simmer for 4-5 minutes. Once it bubbles, remove from burner.

In a large bowl, combine the turkey, egg, ketchup and green olives. Fold together with your hands. Add the onion mixture and fold some more. Pour meat mixture into a bread loaf pan. Place slices of prosciutto on top. Stab the thermometer in the meat and bake for about 40 minutes until the temperature has reached 160 degrees Farenheit. Place the meatloaf on a wire rack or roasting pan so the fat will trickle out. Yum. Top with ketchup and serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 3:40 pm

    Actually, I go in the men’s on purpose ‘cos there’s usually no waiting ;P

Trackbacks

  1. Confessions of a Shoe-aholic Egg Boiling Novice « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

