Skip to content

All American

April 19, 2010

Someone asked the other day if I was Greek. To clear up any confusion, I am not. I’m a little English, a lot German, perhaps Scottish, and maybe Irish? I’m 100% South Carolinian but my parents come from New Jersey and Michigan. If I were a dog, my breed would be All-American i.e., 100% mut. There, I said it. You heard it here folks.

On the other hand, my sister might be Greek. We’re still curious of her whereabouts as she was left on the door by the milk man at such a wee, young age.

Despite my nationality or my sister’s, I do adore Greek cuisine. Perhaps its the pungent feta, the sweetness of the basil or the salty brine of olives that tickles my fancy. With these flavors combined, it’s like watching a 16 and Pregnant marathon where the commercials are three-minute, glorious stints of Beverly Hills 90210 (when Brenda was on the show). Then, someone brings you Five Guys Burgers and Fries, calories and fat removed, topped off with a Jamocha shake from Arby’s. Moreover, an unlimited allotment of shoes is graciously offered to you by Neiman Marcus and then someone gives you a free house equipped with private jet and runway.

That’s what this Greek Pasta Salad is like. It’s just that good.

Greek Pasta Salad

  • 1 lb. of whole wheat fusilli pasta
  • 1 pint of cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of red onions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup of kalamata olives
  • 1/4 cup of green olives
  • 4 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • Handful of chopped fresh basil
  • 3/4 cup of Greek dressing or more

Boil water. Add pasta and cook for 7-9 minutes. Strain and rinse with cold water.

Chop vegetables and combine with the pasta. Add Greek dressing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachel permalink
    April 19, 2010 3:04 pm

    My mouth is watering. Yum. Will you cook for me??

  2. April 20, 2010 9:53 am

    Greek Pasta Salad sure looks good Evie. Your travels to Santorini, collection of Greek recipes and ingredients stirred my interest to ask if you were Greek. I am ½ on my mother’s side.

  3. Becky permalink
    April 20, 2010 6:40 pm

    Glad you’re back! This looks fab and perfect for upcoming warm weather days. Might be a good picnic dinner for Pops in the Park. Just add wine.

Trackbacks

  1. Party on a Whim « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

