Skip to content

India Round Up

June 3, 2010

It’s been about two weeks since I’ve been back from India. I finally but the kibosh on the jet lag and I think my stomach has returned to a state of normalcy. Delhi belly, take that. Let’s not talk about the work that piled on in my absence and how sorry I am for not keeping you updated with all things Indian.

The ‘Puter Hub and I began outlining each day on our trip and we later learned that Internet averaged $20 a day. Thus, our reasoning for not logging on every day to keep you all abreast of our latest adventures.

So enough of my excuses already. Here’s what I learned in photos.

 A motorcycle is the new four-door sport utility vehicle. Helmets, not necessary. Yes, we saw a family of five riding a motorcycle fit for one. Too bad my camera wasn’t handy for that one.

 

The Taj Mahal hotel in Mumbai is absolutely beautiful. I especially like that it didn’t have house guests like the chameleon in our bed and the mouse on the buffet line at the Marriott Hyderabad. Chameleons are a bit too colorful for my liking; you might want to try eHarmony next time you’re looking for a rendezvous.  Might I add that the Taj was safer than Fort Knox. Let’s just say that I went to second base with every Indian security guard known to man on this trip.

 

Whether you are a beer drinker or not, Kingfisher is refreshingly delightful in 113 degree weather with humidity that you can cut with knife. Bring. It. On.

 

Seven people die every day on the train in Mumbai. Tragic, but true.

 

You can drive your elephant on the highway but steer clear of 40 m.p.h. speed limit or else. The speeding donkeys might come after you!

 

The monkeys in Agra are cute but watch your wallet.

 

Not sure if I’ll be frequenting this Laundromat.

 

The children absolutely love having their photo taken. America’s Next Top Model, watch out!

 

One can hold a lot more weight on your head than I thought.

 

It’s OK to crash Indian weddings as their guest list averages 5,000 of their closest friends and neighbors. This behemoth was built for the wedding. Fact.

 

I’m glad I’m not an Indian electrician.

 

This brings new meaning to “Wide Load.”

 

The Taj Mahal is breathtakingly stunning. Entering the gates is emotionally charging. What a colossally magnificent structure.  

India, if I don’t ever get to visit again, consider you bucketed. What an amazing country you are. Full of potential – beautiful people, intelligent business personnel, sumptuously amazing food, and the hardest workers I’ve ever seen. I am forever indebted to the impact you made on my year. Namaste.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. LSpillane permalink
    June 3, 2010 11:49 pm

    Your pictures are fantastic…would love to see them all and hear all of the stories….you sound like you really had a great time. Lynn

Trackbacks

  1. Hot as India « Entertaining by Evie
  2. Jelly of the Month Club « Entertaining by Evie
  3. Goodbye 2010, hello 2011 « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

