Skip to content

Wedding Registry Woes

June 16, 2010

My big, bodacious brother that can swallow a whole burrito before you take your first bite is getting married next June. He asked for some tips on wedding registry that I thought I’d share with you all.

Disclaimer: Last time I checked, I’m not Emily Post but I’d like to think I know a thing or five. I’m kind of a big deal.

General Tricks of the Trade

  • Make sure you pick department stores that are located all over the U.S. or have a superb online registry for your out-of-town guests.
  • My faves are Macy’s, Williams Sonoma and Crate & Barrel. While C&B may not be everywhere, the online registry is awesome. I also recommend Home Depot for man showers if you plan on living in a house.
  • Gage the number of items you register for by the number of guests you invite to your wedding plus the number of showers. Don’t register for too little or you’ll get a bread maker. Don’t register for too much or you will look like a Greedy Gretel.
  • Make sure the gifts have a full range of price points for paupers like me, the bourgeoisie and Donald Trumps of the group.
  • Some people give engagement gifts; some don’t. If you want to avoid getting a ShamWow gift set, register for a few items before your engagement party.
  • If you are a guest at a wedding, it is not acceptable in any way shape or form to bring a gift with you to the wedding reception. You’d be better off lighting yourself on fire during the first dance.   

Glassware/Crystal

  • Register for around 6-12 glasses each. Your everyday necessities include highballs/juice glasses, old-fashioned glasses and coffee mugs. Once you have those, then maybe consider wine glasses (red and white), champagne flutes, beer pilsners, martini glasses, stemless wine glasses, mint julep cups, etc.  We love the Tervis Tumblers in our home.
  • Make sure you pick out sturdy glassware. While ours were pretty, the glasses were über expensive and broke when I saw a bug. Yes, shrieking was involved.  
  • Don’t register for stuff online unless you know you’ve shaken hands with it in person. I opened a box of fish bowls with stems on them. While I loved the fact that it held an entire magnum of wine, they were completely impractical and I never met them in person. Plus, I forgot my name during the first usage.
  • Waterford and Wedgewood make for beautiful crystal. 

Table/Flatware

  • Think place settings of 12 or 16 with dinner plates, salad plates, cereal bowls, dessert plates and pasta bowls. I was skeptical about the pasta bowl but we use it ALL the time.
  • As for everyday china, my mom swore by Lenox brands. I think her dad worked for Lenox at some point in his career. Regardless, it is sturdy and ours has held up fairly well. You want something that will last for 20 years. That stuff is expensive. You want to be able to perform the Greek dish-breaking dance without the breaking part. O-pa!

 Cookware

  • Register for quality knives. Wusthof is what we use. Those puppies make cutting a 4-karat diamond like slicing butter.  
  • Unless you won the lottery or married a sugar daddy, you are both most likely workin’ for the man. A slow cooker is your perfect cure-all to that “let’s just have cereal” dinner night. Pop dinner in the cooker that morning and it’s ready for you once you get home. It also makes for amazing Pork BBQ and braised short ribs.
  • Definitely, add some grill utensils to the ol’ registrar so your beau has a man present to open at the showers.
  • The immersion blender and the food processor are awesome!
  • I would only register for a Kitchen Aid mixer if you suspect you’ll have the counter space. Otherwise, the hand mixer works just fine and remember you’re cheating if you go with the Kitchen Aid.
  • I couldn’t live without my zester. It’s a simple tool that flavors up a lemony rice dish within a matter of seconds.
  • Le Creuset is my favorite pot of all times. We enjoy long walks on the beach together. Fact.

Linens

  • Do you want to sleep on butter? Then, register for lavish sheets. The higher the thread count, the buttery they are. Mmmm … butter.
  • It’s time to get rid of your old college monogrammed towels and bring in the new with your newly betrothed last name.

Registering is fun. If only we could register for Independence Day gifts, Yom Kippur? … 

Got questions? E-mail me or comment away. I’m here to help!

Leave a Reply

