Skip to content

Discoveries

July 19, 2010

After watching an episode of Hoarders: Buried Alive, the family decided it was time to clean out a few closets in the ol’ abode in Greenville so we wouldn’t bury ourselves alive by our own stuff.

We came across a box of our elementary school work including report cards, Mother’s/Father’s day cards, booklets about ourselves, old camp letters, etc. I learned a few things about my 9-year-old self this weekend:

  • My favorite color was turquoise.
  • My favorite subject was math. (That must have been a major lie. I use a calculator at the Dollar Store.)
  • Evidently, I liked basketball. (Another major fabrication. I guess I had to come up with something or people would make fun of me for not liking sports. Right now, my sport of choice is football but I don’t know a touchdown from a home run. Shh … don’t tell anyone.)
  • My favorite show was 90210. (Even at the ripe age of 9, I understood the importance of quality television.)
  • I liked to write stories.
  • I was scared of murderers.
  • My friends thought I was funny.
  • I loved my family.
  • When I was upset, all I needed was a hug.
  • The best part about me was I liked to be myself.

Funny how things never change. I also wrote things to my parents like:

  • “Happy Mother’s Day, Mommy! I love you. Please love me more than the picture in this card.”
  • “Happy Father’s Day, Daddy. If I could give you anything in the world, it would be a … pad and pencil.”
  • “Happy Mother’s Day, Mommy. This card is all I could come up with for mother’s day. Please don’t throw it away.”

Ahh … the old middle child syndrome. And, nachos, tacos and pizza were my favorite foods. I guess I’ll never grow up as I’ve been experimenting with tacos via lettuce wraps lately. The recipe below was derived from this amazingly awesome salmon taco I devoured at Sonoma the other night. BBQ salmon topped with cilantro-lime sauce and queso was such a hunk of heaven. I would have done anything to chow down on five more yet deter the repercussions of calorie-loaded tortillas. So, I attempted to re-create the taco with what I had on hand. Surprisingly, the final product tasted quite similar!

P.S. – please love me more than this recipe and don’t throw it away.

BBQ Salmon Lettuce Wraps

  • 1 lb. of salmon
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup of BBQ sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 4 large iceberg lettuce leaves
  • 1 tablespoon of tomatilla salsa per lettuce wrap (Trader Joe’s Avocado Tomatilla)
  • Mexican cheeses, use about 2 tablespoons per wrap
  • Fresh parsley

Coat salmon in salt, pepper and BBQ sauce. Heat olive oil in a skillet on medium-high. Add salmon. Sear for 3-4 minutes on each side. At this point, you should be able to easily remove the scales.

Using a spatula, chop the salmon into small pieces.

Place about four ounces of salmon into each leaf of lettuce. Drizzle tomatilla salsa over the salmon and sprinkle with cheese and fresh parsley.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:21 pm

    This looks delicious! I laughed out loud about 90210- it made me want to go to Caribou with you. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Ask Evie « Entertaining by Evie
  2. The Imaginary Hobo Who Lived in Our Basement « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

