Skip to content

Things I’m Pondering Today

August 2, 2010

Things I’m Pondering Today:

  • How much wood could a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?
  • This bacon pea pasta has me salivating: http://thebittenword.typepad.com/thebittenword/2008/03/fresh-angel-hai.html
  • How difficult is it to make cacio e pepe? Please report. I think this is my dinner for tonight.  http://memoriediangelina.blogspot.com/2010/07/tonnarelli-cacio-e-pepe.html   
  • This post, thus far, is making me really hungry. My stomach sounds like Bigfoot if Bigfoot could bark. I suppose he has to exist, too.
  • I had a really delicious dinner last night – flank steak with a cilantro-lime-yogurt sauce, sautéed mushrooms and shallots with goat cheese and grilled zucchini. I will share with you soon.
  • I dominated the ‘Puter Hub in golf this past weekend.
  • I totally just lied to you.
  • I’d really like another one of these cupcakes. Remember how I told you that you can use avocados for substituting butter/oil/eggs. You don’t? Here’s a reminder. I totally did. Here’s the end result:    

Peach and Avocado Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 ¾ teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 ½ cups of sugar
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 2 peaches, pureed
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of buttermilk
  • Buttercream frosting

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. To puree peaches, remove skins and chop into slices. Place in a bowl and using an immersion blender puree. You could also put them in a blender. Set aside.

Place flour, baking soda and baking powder in a medium-sized bowl. Sift or whisk.

In a separate bowl, beat sugar and avocado until fluffy. Add peach puree and vanilla extract. Beat until smooth.

Add about ½ cup of flour to batter. Beat. Add 1/3 cup of buttermilk. Add another half a cup of flour. Beat. Do this alternating ingredients beginning and ending with the flour.

Using an ice cream scoop, scoop batter into cupcake liners. Bake for about 18 minutes, until a toothpick is inserted in the middle of the cupcake and it comes out clean. Let them cool on wire racks.   

Buttercream Frosting

  • 1 stick of unsalted butter
  • ¼ cup of buttermilk
  • 2 cups of powdered sugar

Place all ingredients in a bowl. Blend until fluffy. You might need to taste test. If it’s too buttery, add more sugar.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ruthie permalink
    August 2, 2010 9:05 pm

    I guess the butter in the icing negates the lack of fat in the cake batter?

    • ehagood permalink*
      August 2, 2010 9:07 pm

      Haha exactly! I can’t figure out how to make buttercream icing without the butter. I suppose you could just top with powdered sugar, but then they aren’t as pretty.

      Happy Birthday, btw!

Trackbacks

  1. Ask Evie « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

