Skip to content

Time for a Party

August 11, 2010

We’re having a party on Friday. A MacGyver party. All you will need is a paper clip, duct tape and a swiss army knife to attend. The ‘Puter Hub is 30 and just completed his MBA, hence, him being MacGyver and all. He can do anything!

We’re having the party catered which makes me a bit squeamish because I’d like to do it all. Although, the menu looks fabulous – cupcakes, chicken basil pesto salad sandwiches, female brownies (without nuts), tomato, mozzarella and basil sandwiches, etc. But, just peeking at the prices for tomato, mozzarella and basil sammies makes me a bit ill. Too bad work has to get in the way of all things baked, boiled, roasted, grilled and wonderful. I will be OK.

Speaking of tomato and cheese, let’s make a pizza! I heart making my own pizza. It makes me feel better about myself. Even if I use store-bought dough, it’s so much more accomplished than dialing up a pizza delivery dude or popping a frozen one into the oven. Making my own pizza is like getting my MBA. Ok, maybe not the equivalent, but it’s a good feeling in the ol’ gastronomicals.

One of these days, I will defeat the dough-making part. Overcoming my fear of yeast is pertinent and once I do … slap a ‘stache on me and call me Papa John.

Have you used yeast? Tips? Tricks? Beverages consumed upon using said yeast? Chat away while chowing down on some pizza.   

Tomato Caprese Pizza

  • Whole wheat pizza dough (Trader Joe’s)
  • Flour for rolling dough
  • 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon of parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 3 roma tomatoes, sliced thin
  • Handful of fresh basil leaves
  • 1 1/2 cups of mozzarella
  • 1/3 cup of goat cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. If you have a pizza stone, go ahead and heat it up in the oven during its preheat. 

Using a rolling pin, roll the dough onto a flat, floured surface into a circle or blob of sorts. I just used my clean countertop.

Once the oven is at full temperature, take the pizza stone out of the oven. Using your rolling pin, roll the dough onto the stone. Careful, it’s hot! Bake the dough for 5-7 minutes. While the dough is baking, in a small bowl, mix the olive oil and next four seasonings.

Take the dough out of the oven and lightly brush the olive oil mixture onto the entire surface area of the dough. Top with tomato slices, basil and cheese.

Bake for another 10-12 minutes until the exterior of the dough and cheese is slightly brown.

Consume.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:13 pm

    Yummy with a capital Y—your posts always look and sound so delicious. Thank you for sharing with us.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      August 11, 2010 6:16 pm

      Thank you, Barbara, for reading!

Trackbacks

  1. Time for a Party (via Entertaining by Evie) « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

