Skip to content

Meatless Monday

August 17, 2010

Yesterday, I instated a new tradition of the week entitled Meatless Monday. Clever, huh? Upon realizing that I have managed to gain five pounds since April, I decided a healthy, detoxifying soup was in order. I also bungee jumped out of my box and ventured beyond ingredients never been used in my repertoire before – kale and leeks.

Rebel. Without. A. Cause.

Yes, that’s me. It’s like wearing white shoes after Labor Day. Stop the insanity.

Everyone should try parachuting out of their box from time to time, especially me. I am so utterly routinized that the slightest glitch or sidewalk crack has me crossing my eyes and dotting my Ts. I already have dates on the calendar until June 2011.

So sue me. I plan. I plan but I don’t always follow directions. I’m more of the man in our relationship in that regard. The ‘Puter Hub follows directions down to every solitary nut and bolt. Whereas, I just get in there and try to figure it out my way. Eight out of ten times, it works.

Take for example these leeks. I have never seen a leek before much less tasted one. It looks like a cross between a green onion and a white onion so I just chopped up the white part and threw it in the soup pot. For the kale, it looked like the stem needed removal, removed that, chopped up the leaves and stuck it in the bowl. Then, I grunted like Tim the Tool Man Taylor for a job well done.

So if you want the more professional run down of how to cut and clean a leek, try here:

http://hubpages.com/hub/How-to-Cut-and-Clean-a-Leek

Or, if you want to learn more about cooking kale, visit:

http://recipes.howstuffworks.com/tools-and-techniques/how-to-cook-vegetables9.htm

But if you want the shortened ‘man’ version, just ask me. Eight out of ten times, I am right.

White Beans and Greens Soup

  • 1  tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 1/4  cups thinly sliced leeks, white part only
  • 2  large garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2  cup  sliced carrot
  • 6 cups reduced-sodium, fat-free chicken broth
  • 1 rind of parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon  parsley
  • 1 teaspoon of thyme
  • 1 teaspoon of oregano
  • 1 (19-ounce) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup chopped fresh kale
  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • 1/2 teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper

Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add leeks and garlic; cook, stirring occasionally, 3–4 minutes or until tender but not browned. Add carrots, and cook, stirring for 1 minute. Add broth, parmesan rind, and seasonings; bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes, skimming occasionally.

Add beans and kale, and simmer for about 5 minutes more. Add spinach, and cook 2–3 minutes more or until tender. Season with salt and pepper. Ladle soup into bowl and top with a little more fresh parmesan cheese.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:00 am

    Sounds fabulous and I do like to go meatless at times. When you refer to 1 “rind” of the Parmesan Cheese…..? Literally the outside of the block? How much of it?

    I’d like to see your concoction of a Tomato and Beef Broth based, Spinach, Orzo, Grated Parmesan Soup.

    Thanks again Evie for your great recipes, photos and witty sense of humor!

  2. entertainbyevie permalink*
    August 18, 2010 2:31 pm

    Hi Barbara, it’s typically the end of the block of cheese. It’s slightly darker in color and harder, but in this case, it actually melted completely within the soup. (I guess I didn’t use the right type of parmesan?) No clue, but Giada typically removes the rind before serving the soup. In my case, there wasn’t any rind to remove. Oops.

    I bet she uses better quality cheese though with a larger rind.

Trackbacks

  1. Ask Evie « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

