Skip to content

Entrepreneurs

August 19, 2010

My family has a very entrepreneurial spirit if you will. My brother has been itching to start his own venture for years now. He’s thought of everything from suntan lotion booths to opening up Rusty’s Beans and Fruit, a coffee and smoothie shop.

Of course, this drive to start something one-of-a-kind came from somewhere. My dad helped start a company. This was actually legit, but that was after his bike-sail invention went sour. Yes, he blindly sailed a bike down the beach one time. Blind, you ask? Because the sail was mounted to the handlebars. When it was time to go back up the beach, he had to sail the bike backwards.  

Even my mom took a stroll through the gates of entrepreneurship as she created these intricate stiffy bow baskets in hopes to make a dime. And, indeed the dime was her sole profit for these stiff-bowed storage bins. Regardless, stiffy bow basket-making is a great story to laugh about during the holidays. I can hear her chuckling now. She did legitimately have clients that paid her to decorate their homes, and that was without any formal design background. Pam was also one good investor, but I think that was due to the fact that she was an expert shopper, too.  

So here I am. One day, it’s starting an event planning company with my sister. (That could still happen.) One day, Alice and I are crafting head bands with designs coined Mimi, Chloe, Dorothea, etc. to sell to all of her college cronies. We even had a website, thanks to the ‘Puter Hub. Unfortunately, the production crew was too slow for demand. $20 was it, Alice? How much did we profit? Then, the next day I’m opening up a cupcake truck or I’m combining a shoe and wine store into one. Or maybe an antique shop will tickle my fancy? It’s really a new idea every day. So I want to share with you my latest. Invitations by Evie?

Here are some designs I produced for a couple friends. What do you think? Will I retire at age 30, oh Magic Eight Ball, you sweet fortune teller from the 80s? Or, will I be stuck in this corporately manufactured desk glued to a computer screen wearing my headset to bed and speaking acronym until I am 60?

Ask again later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. MMMM permalink
    August 19, 2010 8:31 pm

    David’s marrying Laura?! 😉

    That one’s still my fave.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      August 19, 2010 8:33 pm

      Haha! and Donna Martin! I had to use an alias since this is the Internet and all. 🙂

  2. ruthie permalink
    August 19, 2010 10:58 pm

    I think there is an ‘e’ in the word ‘cape cod’.
    nice work!

Trackbacks

  1. Jelly of the Month Club « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

