Skip to content

College

August 24, 2010

It’s that time of year. Back to school! I just read an article in the NY Times about the freshman class entering college. It takes me back a whopping nine years ago when my parents dropped me off at Miami (of Ohio). I still remember what I was wearing – short black shorts and a matching black and white striped top with black, sequined flip flops. My parents unpacked me into the air conditioned dorm room of Tappan Hall also coined Tampon (because it was an all girls’ dorm in years’ past).

College.

Facebook didn’t exist so my roommate at the time didn’t have a clue who this Evelyn from Greenville, South Carolina was. All she knew resided in the printed freshmen “face” book. Evelyn. South Carolina. Hobbies: music and fishing. I would be slightly horrified, too. And, I was. Horrified that my mom decided to play a practical joke on me and put fishing as one of my hobbies. Ahh … the joys of being a teen. I am so doing things like that to my future children.

I think my roommate was expecting an overweight 80-year-old with missing teeth who enjoyed de-scaling fish for fun and rooting on NASCAR on the weekends while rocking out to AC/DC. Little did she know that I had an awesome stereo for mid-day dance parties. I was armed with Frappuccinos and microwave popcorn, and I had a closet bursting with party clothes and shoes. Oh, and I had red leopard accent pillows for my bunk bed. Doesn’t get any better than leopard pillows, red leopard pillows.

College.

I should have eaten less that freshman year. By less, I mean not spooning jars of peanut butter into my mouth at all hours, not consuming a bag of tortilla chips and cheese after dinner and not indulging in so much Natty Light. Gross. Twenty pounds later, I rolled off the plane in GSP and greeted my parents. They weren’t too happy about giving birth to Gilbert Grape’s mom and having to fork lift me home, but you can’t choose your family.     

College.

I should have eaten more tuna meals like this one but then I suppose I wouldn’t be able to tell you the story of my first fork lift ride. What a joy!

This tuna was a joy as well. Harris Teeter did us right last week as it was flavorful, yet not too fishy, and prepared perfectly seared on the exterior and rare on this inside. It kinda makes me want to take up fishing. Sorta.      

Tuna Steaks

  • 2 ahi tuna steaks (sushi grade), approx. 6-8 ounces a piece
  • 2 tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce, eyeball it
  • 2 tablespoons of sesame seeds, eyeball it
  • Garlic powder
  • Pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of sesame seed oil for searing
  • A plate full of spinach leaves
  • Asian dressing
  • 2 teaspoons of pine nuts
  • 1 teaspoon of Wasabi sauce (found in the fish section of the grocery store)

Marinate the tuna steaks in soy sauce, sesame seeds, pepper and garlic powder. Eyeball your measurements.

Heat sesame oil in skillet. Add tuna steaks. Sear on both the top and bottom for about 2-3 minutes. To sear sides of tuna, use a pair of tongs and turn it on its side in the oil for a few seconds. Rotate it so all of the exterior parts of the tuna are seared. That way, the exterior of the tuna has this cooked, crispy outer shell and it’s completely rare in side.

Top greens with Asian dressing and pine nuts. Place the tuna on top. Drizzle about 1/2 teaspoon of wasabi sauce on each steak.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    August 24, 2010 8:20 pm

    Ev- this looks amazing! This might also be my favorite post ever. The very idea of you fishing puts a smile on my face.

  2. The Roommate permalink
    August 26, 2010 3:07 pm

    Ha- I will take the blame for the chips and cheese as they were probably my idea. Nine years later, I’m still looking to you for cooking advice!

    This tuna looks awesome…I would try to make it now, but if we’re really honoring freshman year, maybe I should just take a nap instead?

    Thanks for the recipe Roomie! xoxo

  3. Alice, the fat college-grad sister permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:48 pm

    This is a great post! I’ll never forget the day mom put that in your freshmen yearbook. So funny.

  4. September 2, 2010 1:17 am

    this post cracked me up. 🙂 speaking of fish, have you been to clean catch off of selwyn? they’re still in a soft opening, but they have super fresh fish! scott and I are mildly obsessed. 🙂

  5. October 26, 2010 5:18 pm

    bunk beds should be made from strong materials like steel or better yet composite fibers*.”

  6. November 13, 2010 8:20 pm

    bunk beds are quite comfortable specially if you use them in a tightly packed room or in a limited spaced room ;*-

Leave a Reply

