Skip to content

Running and Mushrooms

September 10, 2010

How would you finish this sentence?

“The only thing I like more than stuffing my face is … “ – Paula Deen

Stuffing mushrooms especially when they are packed with cheese and bacon.

Before we get to the bacon-y brilliance, let’s talk about how I stuffed my face this weekend at the Annual Greek Festival. I was salivating all last week.

Let’s also talk about the fact that I’ve taken up ‘running’ with the ‘Puter Hub. By running, I mean attempting to bounce up and down while moving forward, gasping for air, jiggling my fat cinnamon rolls, and resembling a sack of over-stuffed baking potatoes being jolted about. It’s not pretty. It’s kind of like a train wreck. Or Danielle Staub of Real Housewives of New Jersey. You sit there in complete and utter silence gaping at the scene. You want to look away, but you can’t. Yes, yes. That would be yours truly attempting to “run.” I use the term “run” very lightly.   

After the dam swim, I had an epiphany that it’s about high-time I get my sack of baking potatoes in gear. We will see how this goes. So far, we are a whopping four days out. Our plan is to run Tuesdays and Thursdays, a short run on Fridays and a long run on Saturdays. Our = my sous chefs and me.

The ‘Puter Hub’s job is to run in front while waving a Chardonnay bottle in my face in effort to keep my sack of potatoes rumbling about. Chardonnay bottle=1, Heavy Evie=0. Dorothy is just there for kicks, plus it helps fend off the stares of horror and opened mouths that commence while gawking at me.

In the meantime, I will keep you abreast of my new found “hobby” in hopes that my sack of baking potatoes will metamorphisize itself into a sack of new potatoes or mini reds, at the very least. I will also include the simple dinners that we prepare on the evenings of our running days. I’m weird and I like to eat before 8 pm so the meal has to be hot, fast and easy.   

Now let’s get on to that bacon-y, mushroom masterpiece.

Stuffed Mushrooms

  • Carton of mushrooms with the stems still in tact
  • ¼ red onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 4 cooked slices of bacon, crumbled
  • 1 cup of Italian cheese blend
  • 2 tablespoons of bread crumbs

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Using a wet cloth, wipe off dirt from mushroom caps. Remove stems from mushrooms and chop up the stems.

In a medium skillet, add onion and garlic to olive oil. Saute for about 3-4 minutes. Add the chopped mushroom stems. Saute for another 2-3 minutes.

We really like pig cutting boards. Add the bacon. Turn down the heat and add the cheese.

Stuff about a spoonful in each mushroom cap. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs.

Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. You can prepare the mushrooms earlier that day and then pop them into the oven so they are nice and toasty when your guests arrive.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    September 13, 2010 7:48 pm

    <>
    Hi Evie,
    Mushrooms look and sound fabulous as all your posts do!

    Wanted to ask you, are you familiar with Mavrodaphne of Patras– Greek Dessert Wine? It is divine if you have not tried it before, but I’m sure you have with your affection for Greek cuisine. But my question is….what would you serve it with after dinner? In the past, I’ve served it alone.
    Thanks and keep posting!!!
    Barbara

  2. Tim the enchanter permalink
    September 16, 2010 7:38 pm

    Evie – Running is the best of hobbies. The toughest part is the beginning because its hard to build up the tolerance to the 3 or 4 miles but once you get through that first part, it gets really addictive. The greenway in Charlotte is just a fabulous place to run. Running is cheap, you get to buy cute shoes & nike outfits and there are a lot of cute boys that run by so you can stare at their abs in a furtive sort of way whilst passing.

    But anyways, the real best part is when you get past the initial like “this is the worst thing ever” and you can just run and bang out a 3.1 miler fun run and your endorphins kick in and it feels great and you sweat and you reconnect with the world. I would say, other than well, enchanting, and contra dancing, running could be one of my fave things ever.

Trackbacks

  1. Goodbye 2010, hello 2011 « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

