Skip to content

Olive Juice

September 29, 2010

Remember that whole I’m-awkward-and-growing-hair-in-my-armpits stage and mouthing “Olive Juice” to your friends because it looked like you were saying “I love you”? You were fooling everyone, and it was knee-slappingly hysterical.

If only adults could mouth olive juice to strangers and get away with it. I suppose it wouldn’t go down so well with your 65-year-old, bi-polar co-worker. And, mouthing it to that stranger at the bar might put you on deck for the registered sex offender list. Aw-kward. Being an adult is such a buzz kill at times. Slap a Debbie cake on my face and call me a Downer. 

Eating olives always reminds me of “olive juice” and it makes my frown turn upside down. My love affair with olives began while gallivanting the Greek countryside with my #1 running partner on our honeymoon. Until then, I don’t know what my life would be like without olives. If you’re ever craving salt and just want to take the salt shaker to the face as I do almost every afternoon, nibble on a few olives and your craving will be instantly cured via salty, briny olives.

I’m happier with a big bowl of buttery popcorn than I am with chocolate cake. If popcorn were on the menu, I’d have it for dessert with a side of olives, and top it off with a goat cheese martini. Then, I’d mouth olive juice to all three of them for hours while salting my face like the streets of Alaska in February. Now, that’s what I’m talkin’ about!

As we segue into part II of this post, I will warn you that this recipe might need some work not as much work as a botched-up-post-plastic-surgery needs but a little nip here and a little tuck there. In theory, the bittery spinach meshed quite lovely with the olive tapenade, plus with the added texture of the flounder, it made for quite the explosion of diverse flavors bouncing around the old taste buds. It was like The Hills meets Teen Mom for happy hour and then migrates the celebration station over to the Real Housewives of DC for some party crashing with the Jersey Shore.

Olive juice, reality TV. Olive juice. What would I write about/do without you in my life?   

Broiled Flounder over Spinach and Mushrooms with Olive Tapenade

Olive Tapenade

  • 2 tablespoons of minced onion
  • 1 teaspoon of capers
  • 1 cup of green and black olives, sliced
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon zest
  • 2 teaspoons of spicy mustard
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil

Add ingredients into a small bowl.

Blend with an immersion blender. Or, use a food processor. Set aside.

Flounder

  • 1 lb. of flounder filets
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Garlic Powder
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

Coat a casserole dish with nonstick spray. Add filets. Season filets with lemon, salt and pepper and garlic powder. Eyeball it. Spread butter of filets. Broil on high for 10 minutes.

Spinach and Mushrooms

  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 3 tablespoons of minced onion
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • ½ contained of sliced mushrooms
  • 8 oz. frozen spinach
  • 2 tablespoons of pine nuts

In a medium skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of butter and sauté garlic, onion and mushrooms for 5-6 minutes. Since the spinach is frozen, you may want to rinse to de-thaw. Squeeze out the juices. Add the spinach and sauté for another 2-3 minutes. Add pine nuts and the other tablespoon of butter. Season with salt and pepper, if needed.

To plate, place spinach at the bottom of two plates. Add fish. If there are juices in the casserole pan, don’t waste them. Drizzle over the fish. Add tapenade.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ruthie permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:02 pm

    ok… so where is the olive juice in this recipe? in the tapenade?

    looks good!

  2. ruthie permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:04 pm

    p.s. to slim things down…no EVOO in the tap. and less buerre in the fish part.

Leave a Reply

