Skip to content

Happy Day of Weekly Coffee Allotment

October 7, 2010

It’s been three and a half years since I have frequented the Caribou coffee shop in Founders Hall. I can safely say that they now know my name. Is that bad? It all started when my co-worker friend and I instated a Caffeine Club every Friday. Because everyone should belong to a Caffeine Club. The main reason for starting the club was to deter us from jumping out of the 40-story office window. Plus, we got overly happy at Happy Hour the night before, and we needed to dish about our co-workers. But we didn’t use their real names; we used code names like Donna Martin, Steve Sanders and Mrs. Teasley. It was genius.   

To hold onto my wallet for these deliciously over-priced caffeinated beverages, I order a regular coffee with a shot of flavor then I add half and half. I’m a seasonal beverage drinker so if it’s hot outside, I switch to iced coffee. In the holiday months, I splurge on peppermint, pumpkin and gingerbread lattes because it’s limited time only. My main rule is that I’m only allotted one deliciously over-priced caffeinated beverage per week. Happy Day of Weekly Coffee Allotment to me! Watch out Thursday. It’s my day of weekly coffee allotment and you’re going down.    

Pumpkin spice lattes make me happier than a hoarder at a garbage dump, more elated than a fat kid at a Twinkie factory, giddier than Richard Simmons sweatin’ it to the oldies on a spandex tour … catch my drift?

Pasta also elates me … and cheese. When combined with a vegetable-y sauce, it’s like a day of weekly pumpkin spice latte allotment all the time! It’s a force not to be reckoned with. So grab your favorite cup full of joe, sit back and enjoy the recipe below. After all, it’s the day of weekly coffee allotment and you’re only your current age once.

Chicken and Roasted Pepper Sauce Over Spinach Linguini

  • 8 oz of spaghetti/linguini noodles (I used spinach linguini from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil
  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 5 banana peppers
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon of dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of basil
  • 1 teaspoon of parsley
  • ½ teaspoon of red pepper flakes
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • ¼ cup of red wine
  • Salt and pepper

Pasta

Boil water. Add pasta. Boil for 6-8 minutes. I never time my pasta. I typically taste test it throughout the boiling process.

Chicken

Salt and pepper chicken. Chop into 1-inch cubes.

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add chicken. Cook on sides for about 4 minutes until chicken is brown. Place chicken on a plate. Using the leftover hot oil and pieces, add the onion and the shallot. Saute for about five minutes.  

Sauce

First, place peppers on a foil-lined cookie sheet and roast in a 400 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. The banana peppers will roast quicker than the larger bells. Once the peppers are roasted, remove the top skin. It should peel off fairly easy.

Add peppers and tomatoes to a bowl. Using an immersion blender, blend the peppers and tomatoes into a thick sauce. Add the sauce to the skillet with the sautéed onions.

Add seasonings and wine.

Simmer for a few minutes then add the chicken. Top sauce on noodles.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    October 8, 2010 5:23 pm

    I miss our CC meetings….once the Chocolate Mint Mochas come out, we’ll need a virtual meeting. 😉

Leave a Reply

