Skip to content

His Name was Dr. O’Pullinteeth

October 22, 2010

Hello my little butternut squash. How are you doing today? Hungry?

Why, yes, of course I have a delectable marinara sauce to share with you. It’s accompanied with squash and white beans for added fiber. We like to keep it regular around here. All for you my little pumpkin muffin.

Speaking of pumpkins, have you carved your Jack-O-Lantern yet? I always carve mine with four teeth, two on bottom, two on the top.

Because that’s what I looked like when I was 13. His name was Dr. O’Pullinteeth. Yes, that’s because he decided to pull 10 of my baby teeth out at one time. This was his remedy for detering braces. I don’t know what’s worse having a metal workers’ convention in my mouth or having four teeth. Having four teeth definitely helped scare off the boys in that whole I’m an awkward angry hormone just waiting to go Carrie on my next victim. Thanks for that Dr. O’Pullinteeth. You really screwed up my game. Maybe that’s why you weren’t invited to my wedding.

Luckily, you can still eat pasta with four teeth otherwise I would have been an awkward hungry angry hormone eating my victims. Yikes.

What’s in store for your weekend? I found my mom’s/grandma’s Italian Wedding Soup recipe. It is highly involved, looks like a day affair but definitely worth the efforts. Looking for something simple? Try this marinara sauce. It freezes well, too.

Have a fab Friday, friends!

White Bean and Squash Marinara

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 squash, grated
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 6 oz. tomato paste
  • 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup of red wine
  • 15 oz. can of white beans
  • 1 teaspoon of oregano, basil, thyme, parsley, and red pepper flakes

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add squash, onion and garlic. Saute for about 3-4 minutes.

Add the next four ingredients and let it simmer for another 2-3 minutes. Add the white beans and seasonings. Simmer for 2-3 minutes.

Serve atop of the pasta of your choice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. ruthie permalink
    October 22, 2010 2:24 pm

    could you edit this and specify which kind of squash? I was thinking winter …as I have one on the counter and was actually going to make winter squash/mushroom/bechamel lasagna tonight.

    but this looks great if you were using zucchini/yellow squash!

    you might have to change your pumpkin description to 3 teeth rather than 4. unless one is hidden somewhere on the bottom.

    great fun reading your blog, evie!

    **you can delete this after you read it.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 22, 2010 2:29 pm

      Thank you. I actually used yellow squash … forgot to specify that.

  2. October 22, 2010 3:20 pm

    this looks so tasty! i’ll have to add it to the queue. And that doc sounds horrible! 4 teeth? come on.

Leave a Reply

