Skip to content

A Love/Hate Relationship

November 12, 2010

About two weeks ago, I hosted a Bachelorette Party at our casa de B&B. For dessert, I served these savory, spicey, saucey cupcakes, rated-R style. Don’t hate. It wouldn’t be a Bachelorette Party without a little indecency. I cannot show you the toppers on these delicacies because I like to keep it PG13 around these parts, but I’m happy to share the recipe.

I’m getting better at these cakes via form of Smurfette’s abode. But, I still have that love/hate relationship with cupcakes. I love cupcakes because they are the perfect “let’s have a taste of cake and icing without ingurgitating an entire 10″ by 13″ sheet cake.” Not that I’ve ever done that before. Ok, maybe in college. It was the early-2000s. I suppose I can’t use that whole “It was the eighties” excuse yet. One day.  

But, I despise cupcakes because they aren’t easy. They take work. and practice. and time. It’s always worth that extra swear here and that four-letter convulse there to perfect the art of the cup-shaped cake. Want a piece of my trials and tribulations, ups and downs, woes and throws of my love/hate relationship with cupcakes? Check them out here:

 

This post kinda makes me want to own a cupcake truck, but the whole butter, flour and driving thing makes me squeamish.

Spiced Applesauce Cupcakes

via Smitten Kitchen

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves (If you only have whole cloves, like me, use a rolling pin and grind the cloves over a wooden cutting board.)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce

Preheat oven to 350°F with rack in middle. Line cupcake tins with cupcake liners.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices. Beat butter, brown sugar, and vanilla with an electric mixer at high speed until pale and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add ½ cup of flour. Beat. Add ½ cup of applesauce. Alternate with flour and again with applesauce until batter is combined. This is a very dense cake so the batter will be fairly thick.

Using an ice cream scoop, scoop batter into cupcake liners until each one is about 2/3 full. I still have yet to master this part.

Bake for 20-25 minutes. Insert a toothpick to test. If the toothpick comes out clean, they’re ready to cool. Cool on a baker’s rack for another 15 minutes.

While the cupcakes are baking, make the frosting. Beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla with an electric mixer at high speed until fluffy. Sift confectioners sugar and cinnamon over cream cheese mixture, then beat at medium speed until incorporated. Using a pastry bag, squeeze about a tablespoon of icing on top. To cover the cupcake in its entirety, you will need to make more frosting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ruthie permalink
    November 12, 2010 4:53 pm

    yum!

    I have resorted to grinding my cloves in my coffee grinder…then I have a little surprise in my next cuppajoe

Trackbacks

  1. Jelly of the Month Club « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

