Skip to content

Run Sideways in the Rain and You Won’t Get Wet

November 18, 2010

Do you have an Aunt Kathy like everyone else I know?

Really?! Get out of town!  

I have an Aunt Kathy, too! My Aunt Kathy likes Johnny Marzetti and brownies. My Aunt Kathy is really great about sending birthday cards. My Aunt Kathy ran around her house sideways three times in the rain because her bully brothers convinced her she wouldn’t get wet. My Aunt Kathy got soaked.

My Aunt Kathy always sings “Johnny Marzettiiii, hey!” in this lounge singer sort of way while making this cheesy spaghetti casserole. Does yours?

When I was younger, I never understood who this Johnny character was. My Aunt Kathy’s long lost lover? My dad’s estranged brother? A character on the Love Boat? A 1950s b-bopper? Did I just refer to someone as a b-bopper?

In other news, I just turned 85. Someone bring me a Metamucil brownie.

Speaking of brownies … I wonder if Kate Middleton eats brownies.

I wonder if Kate Middleton has an Aunt Kathy.

She should.

She should have an Aunt Kathy that makes her brownies like these.

Aunt Kathy’s Brownies

Notes: If you want nuts in your brownies, add about 1/2 cup to the batter before placing it into the casserole dish.

  • 2 squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 1/3 cup of butter
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup of applesauce
  • 3/4 cups of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa

Grease 7″ by 10″ casserole dish. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Place a separate glass bowl over boiling water to create a double boiler. In the glass bowl, melt chocolate and butter. Be careful not to burn.

While chocolate and butter are melting, add egg, applesauce and sugar to the dry ingredients and beat. Add chocolate and butter. Beat again. Spread batter evenly into casserole dish. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    November 18, 2010 4:54 pm

    Nuts in your brownies make them males! I like female brownies!

  2. ruthie permalink
    November 18, 2010 5:08 pm

    save time and microwave the choc/butter mixture. 1-2 minutes on high. just stir every 30 seconds until melted.

  3. Lynn Spillane permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:59 pm

    I love your Aunt Kathy….and brownies. Cousin….Lynn

  4. December 2, 2010 3:51 am

    hi I was fortunate to look for your theme in bing
    your topic is marvelous
    I obtain much in your theme really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really marvelous
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

