Skip to content

Tokyo Subway Pushing

December 3, 2010

I know what you’re thinking. Did her control top panty hose swallow her whole? Where has she been? I want to know how the potatoes turned out. I want to find out what she had for dessert. I really want her autograph. Is that her natural hair color? She’s a moron if she really thinks I want her autograph. Ok, maybe if she was Tori Spelling, I’d want her autograph. Did she get dropped on her head as a child? Or, maybe if she baked me a cupcake I’d tell her I would want her autograph just for the cake. Then, I’d eat the cupcake or shove it in her face and then I would laugh at her for being dropped as a kid. Ok, but really! Where’s she been?

Rest assured my friends, I did not get eaten by my panty hose, although that fiber-woven technology really has a way of metamorphisizing your innards. My kidney is now inappropriately touching my clavicle. It’s like I need a Tokyo subway pusher to put panty hose on. Note to self: Upon becoming billionaire, hire Tokyo subway pusher as my personal stylist. Especially after these potatoes.

These potatoes were the piece de resistance of Thanksgiving Menu: The Movie. It’s a good thing I went running before diving into the pool of heavy creamed potatoes, cheese, mushrooms and leeks. It’s a bad thing that as I was trying to complete my first 5-minute mile in the Turkey Trot 5K that a Kenyan tripped me. I totally would have been able to pull off a 15-minute 5K with all of the running I do and all.

I am totally full of dog dung today. Probably all those “mysterious falls” during my childhood.

So here are the potatoes. Every cheesy, gooey, delicious bite of ‘em. Just for you … but only if you stick around this December. This December is going to rock your socks off. It’s on like Donkey Kong.

Potato Gratin with Mushrooms and Leeks

Slightly adapted from http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Potato-Gratin-with-Mushrooms-and-Gruyere-361811 

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil 
  • 4 cups finely chopped leeks (white and pale green parts only; about 3 large) 
  • 1 large container of white button mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced 
  • 3 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled, cut into 1/8-inch-thick slices 
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream 
  • 1 teaspoon (or more) salt 
  • 1/2 teaspoon (or more) freshly ground black pepper 
  • 1 cup coarsely shredded Italian cheese

The recipe requires a lot of slicing, chopping, peeling and whatnot so make sure everything is chopped, peeled, minced, and sliced before cooking.

Heat two tablespoons of olive oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add leeks; sauté until soft and lightly browned, 10 to 12 minutes. Add mushrooms, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and sauté until soft and liquid evaporates, 7 to 8 minutes. Add garlic; sauté 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 375°F. Combine cream, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper in large pot. Add potatoes. Bring to boil; reduce heat to medium and simmer, covered, 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove lid; simmer until cream is reduced by about half and potatoes are partially cooked, stirring often and watching closely to prevent mixture from burning, about 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Brush 13 x 9 x 2-inch glass or ceramic baking dish with oil. Transfer half of potato mixture to dish, spreading out in even layer.

Spoon mushroom mixture over in even layer. Spoon remaining potato mixture over, spreading in even layer. Sprinkle cheese over. Bake for about an hour. Let rest 10 minutes before serving.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    December 6, 2010 1:30 am

    Nice action shot!
    These taters look dreamy!

Trackbacks

  1. A Tale of Two Rock Lobstas « Entertaining by Evie
  2. Goodbye 2010, hello 2011 « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

