Skip to content

Peppermint Ice Cream

December 30, 2010

Let me remind you how the name ‘Puter Hub was contrived. ComPUTER because he does things like taking a part a computer and then snaps a photo of it:

Which then has me ask … “Why did you take a photo of this?”

He promptly replies in a manner that is ‘you are an imbecile for not already knowing the answer to that question,’ “Because I took the entire computer apart to install that motherboard.”

Helloooo, why would he NOT take a picture of a computer in a million pieces? My bad. I will never ask a question like that again.

Despite the dweeb-iliciousness that is our little family, the ‘Puter Hub was good to me this Christmas. Not only did he gift me a MacBook Pro under staunch belief that Macs are exorbitantly over-priced and unnecessary, but he also makes me peppermint ice cream.

Who wouldn’t want a Richard? His peppermint ice cream is creamy, minty and delightfully charming.  Making peppermint ice cream each Christmas season is a tradition adopted from his family. I am so thrilled to share it with you.

Enjoy!

‘Puter Hub’s Peppermint Ice Cream

Adapted from the Cuisinart Frozen Yogurt – Ice Cream & Sorbet Maker recipe booklet

  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • ~¾ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 cups of heavy cream
  • ½ teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of peppermint extract
  • ¾ cup crushed peppermint candies, crush with a hammer

In a medium bowl, whish the milk and sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream, vanilla and peppermint extract.

Turn your ice cream maker on, pour the mixture into the freezer bowl through the ingredient spout and let mix thicken, about 25-30 minutes. Add the crushed candies during the last 5 minutes of mixing. Pour ice cream mixture in a plastic container and place the container in the freezer. Let the ice cream harden in the freezer for about an hour.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice Wagner permalink
    December 30, 2010 2:54 pm

    It looks good. When are you going to make me some?

  2. Puter Hub permalink
    December 30, 2010 3:22 pm

    The little sqiggle (tilde) in front of the 3/4 cup of sugar is there because I use a little less than 3/4 cup. The peppermint candies add a lot of sugar and the combination can make the icecream a little too sweet for my taste, but you be the judge.

    For the record, I DID put my laptop back together successfully and it works like a charm. I replaced the motherboard AND the graphics processor and heat sink.

Leave a Reply

