Skip to content

Goodbye 2010, hello 2011

December 31, 2010

2010 had its ups and downs, trials and tribulations, woes and throws. It was quite the year of eating your feelings. Let’s recap it in photos.

We began the year with a small impromptu New Year’s gathering which ended with fist pumping over champagne in our living room. Doesn’t get much better than that.

I made a delectably savory Chili Lime Pork Tenderloin.

We hosted a fanta-bulous 30th Anniversary party for my parents.

In case you are wondering, they are not really from the North Pole. This photo just makes me happy.  My mom had a thing for paying attention to detail. Even her eyebrows are white and bushy.

We made orange vanilla cupcakes for a baby shower.

My mom lost a 3.5-year battle to cancer. As horrific as it is to lose someone so special, I am so blessed to have had such an amazing, vivacious, spicy woman to look up to. Not everyone can say they had the best relationship with their mother, but our relationship was a great one. She was an impeccably spunky spirit. I’m so happy to have had 26 years with her.

Plus, she had a really awesome way of pulling off pink socks paired with a fur leopard coat.


I found comfort in making lots of pastas, risottos and foods for my family.

As an added bonus, I had the amazingly thrilling opportunity to travel across the world to India. Traveling to such an unfamiliar world really puts things in perspective. Like I’m really glad I don’t go India detox diet every time I drink American water. Here I am pondering about perspective. In India.

I made an India-esque dish to commemorate the trip.

We lost another family member. At this point, I could include the part about me totaling my car, but then Debbie Downer is going to sit right next to me. Nobody likes Debbie. That Debbie, such a Downer. Plus, Mimi just wanted to be with my mom again.

In happier dog-related news, Dorothy turned 2. You know at age 2, they’re finally talking. Here she is. Talking.

The ‘Puter Hub graduated. I am so very proud of him. So, we threw a party! He we are with our 50-pound lap puppy. We are shiny.

I swam 2.2 miles across a lake and I am “dam” proud. That pun will never get old. Even if I did have to wear a see-through Speedo to do it.

I will never post a photo of me in a Speedo up on the Internet again.

Oops.

I learned how to play croquet. I learned I would rather take pictures of us jumping up in the air in our croquet whites than actually playing croquet.

Then, I made stuffed mushrooms.

I ran my first 5k. Then, I ran another 5k. And another. Let’s play “Where’s Alice and Evelyn?”

Then, we ate potatoes. Extra creamy potatoes.

Ending the year on light and happy note, I was at the in-laws for Christmas and my family sent this photo of their Christmas Eve dinner.

Now, who can’t resist gloating at a few furry four-legged dinner guests?

This girl!

Here’s to a better, brighter 2011! May the wind be always at your back. May the woes and throws of years’ past be behind you. May the ships set sail to a greater harbor. May you write some new words in your book of 2011. May you get another chance to make it right. And all of those utterly notorious New Year’s cliches on starting anew.

For auld lang syne, my friends.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy permalink
    December 31, 2010 5:55 pm

    Evelyn, I have enjoyed so much reading your blog and learning cooking skills. I love your dishes. Keep it up and thanks- Sandy

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      January 1, 2011 2:56 pm

      Thank you so much! Happy New Year.

Trackbacks

  1. Half Marathon Training with Pork Lo Mein « Entertaining by Evie

Leave a Reply

