Skip to content

Death by Peep Toe

January 24, 2011

If you asked my father-in-law the apropos way to make cornbread, it is whisked with buttermilk, no sugar and it crumbles upon consumption. While I like my cornbread crumbly, I also like it somewhat sweet. Not overly sweet as cornbread isn’t meant to be cake, but a hint of sugar. That’s I why I defer to this recipe which resides in the Uptown Down South Junior League of Greenville cookbook, copyright 1986. You better believe that Pam Wagner (mi madre) was on the recipe testing committee for crafting this cookbook.

In other news, 1/2 marathon training is in full swing; I have purchased five new pairs of shoes in the past month; and I traveled to the D.R. so the goals for 2011 are going well. I purchased two pairs of shoes for my promotion. Then, I purchased another pair for said promotion because the first two pairs just didn’t cut it. Hellooo, Stuart Weitzman pumps for under $100. Don’t mind if I do. Then, I purchased another two other pairs for the loss of Dorothy.

On the next episode of Hoarders: Buried Alive. A woman eats her feelings while suffocating among thousands of racks of shoes. Death by peep toe.

One of these days, I will line up my shoe art and take a pretty photo for you. Until then, I am whipping up some cornbread.

Cornbread Carousel

  • 1½ cups yellow cornmeal
  • ½ cup of plain flour
  • 2/3 cup of sugar
  • ½ teaspoon of salt
  • ½ teaspoon of soda
  • ½ teaspoon of baking powder
  • ¼ cup of vegetable oil
  • 1½ cups of buttermilk

Combine all ingredients and mix well. Spoon into a well-greased loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until done. Cool on a wire rack.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

