Skip to content

Baby, You’re a Firework

January 26, 2011
So remember how I told you to saute your leftover Christmas ham with spinach? Well, I did. Here is a friendly reminder. We had so much ham between the two of us that I had to make … we interrupt this post to bring you Katy Perry’s Firework. Doesn’t the song just make you want to wear a sparkly red unitard and play with fire? Don’t be shy. Ignite that light and let it shine. Baby, you’re a firework.
Sorry, just had to spontaneously break out into Zumba. Back to hammin’ it up with the soup. With ham. And white beans. And spinach. It tasted like having a firework in your mouth, while wearing a sparkly red unitard and playing with fire. That kind of deliciousness. I think Katy Perry would agree.
Moving forward, is it weird that I want to adopt this dog and name her Donna Martin?
Let me preface this by saying, “I, Evie, cannot make an informed decision.” I can purchase a pair of shoes within a snap. I go into DSW and all circuits are overloaded. It is like watching a crack addict. Suddenly, before you can say, “chubby bunny” ten times fast with 100 marshmallows in your mouth, I am checking out three pairs of shoes while drooling, smiling, wagging my tail, twiddling my fingers and saying muahahahahaha. It is rather diluted.
But, when it comes to big decisions like buying a car, waiting four years to purchase a dresser, picking out shelves for my new office or getting a new pet, I am lost. There are tears involved. I get angry. I know I ultimately want a dog. But, is it too soon? Should we get a puppy or an adult dog? Non-shedding or shedder? Large or small? Athletic or sloth? Pure bred or Heinz 57 or doodle of sorts? Black, white, red or spotted?
Please humor me by taking a poll.
Thank you. Enjoy your white bean, spinach and ham soup.

White Bean, Spinach and Ham Soup

  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 medium-sized onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 2 large slices of leftover Christmas ham, cubed
  • 14.5 oz can of tomatoes
  • 15.5 oz can of white Northern beans
  • 32 oz. of chicken broth
  • 3 oz. of fresh spinach
  • 1 teaspoon of each, basil, parsley, thyme and pepper

In a Dutch oven, heat olive oil and butter. Add onion and garlic and saute for about 7 minutes. Add the ham, tomatoes, beans. Stir. Add the chicken broth and let it simmer for another 10 minutes. Add fresh spinach.

Simmer for a five minutes until spinach is wilted into the soup. Add spices. Serve with cornbread.

Last year at this time …

I was fist pumping and making basil pesto spaghetti.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Taylor permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:42 pm

    Your blog gets me through so many painful days at work! I love it! GET THAT DOG!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. ruthie permalink
    January 26, 2011 6:04 pm

    since you both work full time…I would def get a sloth. goldens/labs need tons of exercise. not fair to leave home all day alone.
    low/non shedder. unless you want your friends to have a leopard look to their black outfit.

    I would go to the adopt-a-pet and get low shed or no shed doggie.

    rhodesian ridgebacks are great. low shed, don’t need a lot of exercise. mellow. love other dogs. don’t bark unless something is REALLY worthy of barking. really sweet dogs!

    but the RR adoption process is pretty tough. they want to make sure that dog doesn’t get loose to chase a squirrel into the street, as RRs are predator dogs.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      January 27, 2011 12:42 pm

      Richard and I both work from home. I agree that it’s not fair to leave a dog all day home alone but we’re both here. Dorothy was never left alone for more than five hours by herself.

      • ruthie permalink
        January 27, 2011 1:27 pm

        def check out RRs. we have several in our ‘hood and they are just the sweetest, calmest dogs. and the adoption people foster them out prior to adoption so that they are socialized, vaccinated, neutered and they match you so that you are both happy campers.

        and did I mention low shed? if you get a juvenile (not puppy)..you don’t have to deal with the chewing and housebreaking. who doesn’t like that?

        oh..and they are usually crate trained as well.

        http://www.ridgebackrescue.org/home.html

        good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Baby, You’re a Firework « Entertaining by Evie -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

