Skip to content

Cookbooks Worth a Gander

June 16, 2011

We have been rather non-stop for the past five weeks or so in which I haven’t had time to sit on the couch and read a cookbook. Yes, I do this. I thought this was normal?

I have also been on a thin-tervention with myself in order to suck my sausage of a body into the casing of a bridesmaid dress. Never gone 6+ hours before without breathing. Granted, due to the lack of air, my face matched the dress while taking that stroll down the aisle. Not being able to breathe is on par with one-shoulder dresses and rompers, the top summer trends!

Speaking of trends, here are some cookbooks that I’d like to get my grubby little paws on.

The Hungover Cookbook

Bananas over ranch-coated french fries with bacon and cheese? Don’t mind if I do. Ok. That sounds disgusting. Because I just made it up. However, I believe the author is British which leads me to believe that he has a pretty awesome sense of humor along with recipes like an ice cream smoothie, bacon sandwich and more.

http://www.amazon.com/Hungover-Cookbook-Milton-Crawford/dp/030788631X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1308229273&sr=1-1

Skinny Italian: Eat It and Enjoy It - Live La Bella Vita and Look Great, Too!

Please don’t judge, but she’s skinny and she whips up some mean Italian foods. Who doesn’t love a taste of Italy via Jerseyliciousness?

http://www.amazon.com/Skinny-Italian-Enjoy-Bella-Great/dp/1401310354/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1308229249&sr=1-1

My Father's Daughter: Delicious, Easy Recipes Celebrating Family & Togetherness

Ok, go ahead, judge, but you have to give Gwynnie props. She has bajillions of dollars, but still manages to put food on the table for Apple, Pear, Eve, Moses and Goliath, or whatever her kids names are. A bonus feature, she categorizes the recipes as make-ahead, vegetarian, vegan, quick, one-pot meal or dress-up meal.

http://www.amazon.com/Fathers-Daughter-Delicious-Celebrating-Togetherness/dp/0446557315/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1308228034&sr=1-1

Barefoot Contessa How Easy Is That?: Fabulous Recipes & Easy Tips (Fabulous Recipes and Easy Tips)

I love me some barefoot goodness topped off with heavy cream, good olive oil, and butter. I have her first cookbook where I have experimented with her strawberry and cheddar dill scones (coming soon!). You really can’t go wrong with this barefooted brunette broad from the Hamptons.

http://www.amazon.com/Barefoot-Contessa-How-Easy-That/dp/0307238768/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1308228563&sr=1-1

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl

She started her cooking career as a blogger and is now one of the top sellers on Amazon. Have to give this Pioneer Woman some mad props!

http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-Woman-Cooks-Recipes-Accidental/dp/0061658197/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1308229225&sr=1-1

Small-Batch Baking

Ever think one cupcake is just enough? No, I don’t either. I typically like to eat twelve in one sitting. But, then the guilt parade knocks on my love handles like a drum the size of Portugal.  This book ensures the guilt parade won’t come knocking at your door with cake recipes for two, not twelve.

http://www.amazon.com/Small-Batch-Baking-Debby-Maugans-Nakos/dp/0761130357/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1308229007&sr=1-1

C’est la vie, my friends!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

