Skip to content

Baked Bean Casserole

October 11, 2011
I have a leftover funeral ham bone in the freezer that I am saving for pea soup. I know pea soup sounds revolting. It freaked me out the first twenty seven years of my life. Until my dad made pea soup from leftover funeral ham. It is actually quite delicious. Now if only I can find the recipe.
Is having leftover funeral ham bones in the freezer normal?
What is normal?
I suppose baked beans and football are normal.
This is probably the best batch of baked beans I have ever had. All of the elements really mesh well together and it is super simple. You can serve it as a side dish or you can even serve it with tortilla chips as a bean dip. The recipe hails from a family friend.  It truly is a show stopper. Try it. You really can’t go wrong.
In the meantime, do you know how to make pea soup? Do tell. I am taking notes.

Baked Bean Casserole

  • ½ lb of thick, good bacon- crumble
  • 1 large green pepper, chopped
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 can lima beans (15 ½ oz) drained
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (15 ½ oz) drained
  • 1 can 28 oz baked beans – I used Bush and had 2 different flavors
  • 1-2 tablespoon brown sugar
Slice bacon and saute in a skillet for about 10 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon. Add green pepper and onion to the bacon fat. Once the onions are translucent (about 7-9 minutes of sauteing), add the lime beans, tomatoes and baked beans. Pour into a casserole dish and top with the bacon and brown sugar. Bake for 2 hours at 325 degrees.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 11, 2011 2:40 pm

    Your baked beans sound delicious! I will be making some soon. And I know how to make pea soup so I will send you a recipe!

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 12, 2011 1:54 pm

      Yes, please send the recipe my way.

  2. October 11, 2011 7:45 pm

    my fav soup!

    my method is to simmer a smoked bone in ham (about 2 lbs) in 3 quarts of water with 4 bay leaves for 2 to 2.5 hours. you can also use those twin ham hocks that come in a package.

    remove bone/hocks and if the meat is still edible, shred it to add later.

    while simmering ham bone, saute chopped carrots, celery, onion. 2 each, in some EVOO or butter – on HIGH at first for about 6 minutes. then turn down heat and sprinkle some salt, pepper, a pinch of sugar and several minced cloves of garlic. continue saute for about half an hour until deeply carmelized.

    dump split peas (1 lb) and a teaspoon of thyme in the seasoned water. simmer about 45 minutes til soft.

    add veggies and 3 small new potatoes to pea soup. simmer until spuds are tender and peas dissolve. about 20 more minutes.

    if you have immersion blender go for it. I usually leave some veggie chunks for texture, but some people like their soup pureed. add your shredded ham.

    p.s. if your funeral ham has lots of meat on it, take some off ahead of time and dice it to add in later. I find if I boil a bone in ham, the meat gets pretty darn cooked. we usually don’t add the ham, but just enjoy the smokey ham flavor from the stock.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 12, 2011 1:54 pm

      Thank you! Do you use frozen peas or fresh?

      • October 12, 2011 2:50 pm

        oh, sorry…the dried split peas. fresh/frozen pea soup is a whole ‘nother thing. delish as well. more of a summer/spring thing, though. split pea is a bi-monthly winter item in our house. we eat it for our non meat nights.

        how much meat is on your funeral ham?

Leave a Reply

