Skip to content

Cooking without Power

October 12, 2011

Do you ever check your clothing for cockroaches before you put it on? Because I do. I know. Enroll me in the nearest mental institution. Those little suckers are vicious and they are good for just about, well, nothing. When I was 16, as I was getting ready for school and putting a black tee on, I felt something shuffling within the tee but I decided to put it on anyway. Because that was smart. Or maybe it was just time for my Frappuccino.

Once I discovered the three-inch armadillo creeping its way up my back, let’s just say, I had that shirt off faster than a band geek’s top at her first frat party. Blech.

The other day, we had one inching its way up our wall until I discovered the five-inch velociraptor. (Note the roach’s increase in size as we discuss these vehement pests further.) Gave me the heebeegeebees ever since. Shudder. Thanks to the ‘Puter Hub and his trusty boat shoe, that thing was gone faster than appetizers at a Wagner family reunion. (Now that is fast.)

On that subject of appetizing, ever think brown rice is rather bland? Yes, we just transitioned from pest control to brown rice. Stick with me here.

After getting irritated at an episode of 5 Ingredient Fix, I was intrigued by Claire’s Green Goddess Rice so I decided to give it a whirl.

During a power outage.

This was rather difficult without a mixer so my green goddess dressing was a bit chunkier than hers. My thighs are, too. Despite my massive thighs and chunky dressing, the rice exploded with flavor. So much flavor, that a few days later, I used cilantro and lime rather than basil and lemon. The cilantro and lime paired well with Southern Living’s Mojo Chicken (more on that later).

The point of the story is to kill all the cockroaches that infest this Earth and eat some green goddess rice.

Good day, my friends.

Green Goddess Rice

Adapted from http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/claire-robinson/green-goddess-rice-recipe/index.html

  • 1 1/2 cups basmati rice
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 small avocado, peeled, pitted, and coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt (makes it creamy)
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Salt and pepper

Bring the 3 cups of water to a boil. Add the rice and butter. Let it come to a boil and then turn on low and let it simmer for 35-40 minutes until the water is absorbed.

Meanwhile, put the avocado, basil, lemon juice, oil, and 1/4 cup water in a bowl. Mash, mix and stir generously with a fork until it is creamy. If you have power, puree in a mixer or blender. Season with salt and pepper. Add more water and puree until the mixture is the consistency of sour cream.

Fluff the rice with a fork and gently fold the green dressing into the warm rice. Taste and add more salt and pepper, if necessary. Serve immediately.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 2:17 pm

    nice pics!

    do you usually open your avocados by scoring them and removing w/spoon? because you can cut in half, remove pit, then quarter it. the skin just peels right off.

Leave a Reply

