Skip to content

Elements of a Cook’s Kitchen

October 14, 2011

Wow! You all are too kind. I was overwhelmed by the generous comments you graciously gave us after my recent kitchen post. Thank you for your thoughtfulness. Really. Have a cupcake. On me. Well, don’t eat it ON me. That could get messy. But, enjoy one.

A few weeks ago, I shared some of the elements that I longed for in my dream kitchen. You may remember said post. We were able to implement some of these things in our new space so let’s take a stroll in photos. Strap your shoes on. C’mon in.

The pantry. It was our general contractor’s idea to put in the pantry. Boy were we right to hire him! Gee golly whiz. To the left, we hung a bulletin board to post invites, To Do’s and grocery lists so we don’t clutter up the front of the refrigerator. Too much clutter makes me convulse and swallow massive bowls of ice cream. Luckily, with a pantry like this one, we can hide the “stuff” and I am confined to eating fro’ yo’.

It just so happens that The Container Store landed in Charlotte during our renovation. I poop money just looking at the place. We picked up these handy dandy over-the-door spice racks. Yes, I used “handy” and “dandy” in the same sentence. Yes, I also alphabetized my spices. Don’t judge.

Cookbook storage was a necessity. I was hoping to put the cookbook storage in the peninsula so I could have two shelves, but that did not work design-wise. “Beggars cannot be choosers.” However, our contractor really liked my idea of cookbook storage and he said he would use that on other projects. Score! “Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.”

A drawer inside of a cupboard for pots and pans is something my parents had in their kitchen. It is a great way to store the bulky pots and pans and deter the swearing that ensues when trying to retrieve a pot that has a bajillion other pots stacked on top. Run-on sentence much?

Installing the microwave in the bottom of the cabinet in lieu of the top was our contractor’s idea. Brilliant. Now you can actually see the leftover turkey chili exploding in the microwave causing your ‘Puter Hub to go into a tailspin of paper towels and cleaning products.

Check out my awesome sweat pants and socks in the reflection.

Here is the split I attempted so you would not see my awesome socks and sweatpants.

Fail.

The piece de resistance was our garbage and recycling storage. Before, our dirty rotten aluminum, paper and plastic products morphed into science experiments as they sat on our counter begging someone to take them to the recycling bin. Now, we have space for garbage and recycling. Leapin’ Lizards. Cool beans. Insert any other saying from Annie Warbucks.

This is the part where we cue angelic music. The wine fridge. Unfortunately, the dumb thing doesn’t work so this is a placeholder for the working one.

There you have it, folks. Do you have any other storage ideas to share with me?

Feed me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    October 14, 2011 8:37 pm

    Great post Evie! I think your great GC may have taken our trash/recycle idea:)
    Can’t wait to see in person and very glad you are happy with everything. Hope to catch up soon. Miss you.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 15, 2011 2:43 pm

      When are you guys in town next? Email or call me!

  2. Your AWESOME sister permalink
    October 14, 2011 9:20 pm

    AWESOME. I can’t wait to make it messyyyyyyy! When can I move my stuff in?

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    October 20, 2011 1:58 pm

    No judgment from me! I alphabetize my spices too!

Leave a Reply

