Skip to content

Chipotle Chicken Tortilla Soup

October 18, 2011

I was watching “The Today Show” this morning and I asked the ‘Puter Hub what this “Occupy Wall Street” thing was. He looked at me like I had five heads. (P.S. – I despise when he does this so I gave him the evil “just-answer-the-question-or-you’re-makin’-dinner” stare back.) Meanwhile, I felt like an ostrich. Do ostriches really stick their heads in the sand or is this just a horrific display of Photoshop? I wish humans could bury their head in the sand and it was socially acceptable. Then again, I also wish it was still socially acceptable to wear pajamas with feet.

One of these days.

That’s the thing about grief. It is either absent or all-consuming. You have your good days and your bad. Your tears and your triumphs.

I had a triumph whipping up this spicy soup the other day. It was pretty baller and I contrived the dish completely on my own. How’s that for having my head in the sand? Eh?

I guess I need to spend the rest of the day catching up on politics, occupiers on Wall St. and so forth. Sounds duller than a doornail watching paint dry.

I would much rather eat this soup. You should eat it, too.

Catch you on the flip side.

Chipotle Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • 1 lb. chicken tenderloins
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons of chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon of coriander
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 3 chipotle peppers in Adobo sauce, chopped (use 2 for less heat, it’s spicy!)
  • 1 teaspoon of Adobo sauce from can
  • 15 oz. can of chopped tomatoes
  • 15 oz. can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup of frozen corn
  • 32 oz. chicken stock
  • Tortilla chips and cheese for serving
In a medium skillet, heat vegetable oil. Add chicken and cook for about 8-10 minutes on each side until lightly browned. Set aside.
In a large Dutch oven, heat oil. Add onions, green and red peppers and garlic. Saute for 7-9 minutes.
Add next three seasonings. Add chipotle peppers, tomatoes and sauce. Remove the chicken from the skillet and chop up the chicken into cubes and add it to the pot. Stir for a couple of minutes. Add black beans, frozen corn and stock. Simmer for a couple of hours and stir intermittently.
Serve with tortilla chips and cheese. Add cilantro or sour cream, if desired.
 
One Comment leave one →
  1. Alice Wagner permalink
    October 18, 2011 4:13 pm

    Bring that home Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

