Skip to content

Cinnamon Apple Cobbler

October 25, 2011

Testing and tasting Thanksgiving recipes is really getting to my waist line. Hello, Muffin [Rocky] Top, Tennessee! My muffin top and I need to go for a lil’ jog stat. She loves bouncing around the streets of Charlotte.

What I sacrifice for my beloved readers. As I have mentioned before in cobbler posts #1 and #2, this cobbler is more amazing than spotting Where’s Waldo on Halloween. I found him! The best part is, you can substitute fruits so if you are not apart of the Peach Fan Club, use apples. You’re not inamorata with apples, try berries.

The technique and ingredients are all very similar. It’s easier than winning the bet that Lindsay Lohan will go to jail again and the flavor is more explosive than my brother’s gas.

Gross.

But, oh, so true. Now, I will post a picture of me sporting a mullet so we are even in the embarrassing department.

Business in the front, party in the back has new meaning on a two year old.

Cinnamon Apple Cobbler

Adapted from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/peach-cobbler-recipe/index.html

Notes: I cut the original recipe in half.

  • 3 apples, peeled, cored and sliced (2 cups)
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cups milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine the apples, 1/2 cup sugar, cinnamon and water in a saucepan and mix well. Bring to a boil and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from the heat.

Put the butter in a shallow baking dish and place in oven while it is preheating to melt.

In a separate bowl, mix remaining 1/2 cup sugar, flour, baking powder, salt and milk slowly to prevent clumping.

Pour mixture over melted butter. Do not stir. Spoon fruit on top, gently pouring in syrup.

Batter will rise to top during baking. Bake for 30 to 45 minutes.

To serve, scoop into a bowl and serve with vanilla ice cream.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 25, 2011 6:40 pm

    This looks so yummy I’m going to try it tonight with the last of the apples I bought in Saluda a few weeks ago. I forget what they’re called (the apples, I mean) but I do remember that they’re a cross between Granny Smith and Golden Delicious.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 25, 2011 8:41 pm

      Thank you! Let me know how it goes.

  2. October 25, 2011 11:48 pm

    had to try this tonight as I have an excess of apples from my farm delivery.

    I felt a bit compelled to add a pinch of salt to the apples along with some vanilla. other than that…would add some oats to the flour mixture, but only had the steel cut.

    in the oven as we speak.

  3. October 26, 2011 12:07 am

    p.s. this would be really good with creme fraiche instead of ice cream as a topper.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 26, 2011 11:58 am

      I bet. I always use stuff I have in the house.

  4. October 26, 2011 1:03 am

    not sure what I did wrong here…but this won’t be on our turkey day menu. the crust was really tough and chewy.
    how did yours turn out?

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      October 26, 2011 11:58 am

      How long did you cook it? Sounds like it was in the oven too long.

      • October 26, 2011 2:05 pm

        32 min. I think that using my glass pyrex dish caused the problem. you are supposed to turn your oven temp down 25 degrees if you use glass.
        pay heed! also, I was rather violent in mixing the flour, sugar, milk etc. prior to dumping into the dish – think that might have messed up the tenderness of the cobble.
        p.s. my apple stuff was dark brown, from the cinnamon. how come yours is a nice golden color?

  5. November 13, 2011 5:15 pm

    Hi! I made this recipe last night 🙂 pretty tasty! Hope to have it added to my blog later today!

Leave a Reply

