Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash and Sumo Wrestling

November 2, 2011

How is Day 2 of No Excuses November (NEN) going? Are your muscles aching? Don’t you love that feeling? Am I the only one who derives pleasure from sore, achy muscles and the fact that I can hardly walk?

Probably. Speaking of hardly walking, I have agreed to go skiing with the ‘Puter Hub and my family this Christmas. I have not skied in 12 years, and 12 years ago, I wouldn’t necessarily call that skiing. It was more like inching my way down the bunny slope on two parallel planks of death while sporting one of those faux sumo-wrestler costumes. I’m pretty sure a few toddlers whizzed passed giving me the middle finger salute.

This year will be different, however.

#1-Because it’s No Excuses November so I have no choice but to get in shape.

#2-The ‘Puter Hub agreed to buy me a new ski outfit so he wouldn’t be associated with the sole sumo-wrestler on the slopes. Plus, he will get multiple ski trips out of it. So he thinks.

Ski Outfit
Ski Outfit by eviehagood featuring tahitian pearl stud earrings

What do you think?

Are you thinking Pica-Evie Street like I am?

You are now. Aren’t you?

Here is the part where I stop the shenanigans and share my first spaghetti squash experience with you. Substituting carb-y pasta with squash pairs well with NEN. You will go from sumo-wrestler to an ultimate fighting champion. Promise.

Spaghetti Squash & Turkey Burger Marinara

  • 1 Spaghetti Squash
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 8 oz. turkey burger
  • 2 teaspoons of minced garlic
  • 1/2 container of pre-sliced mushrooms
  • 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 8 oz can of tomato sauce
  • Italian seasonings of parsley, basil, oregano and red pepper flakes (Eyeball the measurement)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Parmesan cheese, garnish
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a casserole dish with non-stick spray (I should have done this). Pierce squash several times with a fork. Place on dish. Bake for one hour until the flesh of the squash is tender.
While squash is baking, coat olive oil on a large skillet on medium heat. Add onion and turkey burger. Saute until brown. Add garlic and mushrooms. Saute for another 5-7 minutes. Add tomatoes, sauce and seasoning. Turn heat on low and simmer until the squash is ready.
Remove squash from the oven and cut in half from top to bottom (stem to bottom). Using a spoon, remove the seeds and pulp. It looks like the insides of a pumpkin.
Once you have removed the pulp and seeds, using a fork, scrape the squash out of the flesh.
It should scrape out easily into strands like spaghetti noodles.
Spoon sauce on top. Sprinkle with cheese.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 3:50 pm

    isn’t spaghetti squash the best?

    which mountain?

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      November 2, 2011 7:10 pm

      Steamboat Springs, Co!

      It is pretty good. Alice was the one who got me into it.

  2. Alice permalink
    November 2, 2011 4:09 pm

    Where is my recognition? I told you to make this. For one cup of spaghetti squash, you eat only 31 calories. NEN.

    • entertainbyevie permalink*
      November 2, 2011 7:09 pm

      Yes, thank you for telling me to make this. Consider yourself recognized. : ) haha.

      Ok. I will recognize you in the next post. Just you wait!

Leave a Reply

