Skip to content

Back like the Brussels Sprout

February 24, 2012

Entertaining by Evie is back like the brussels sprout. If you are into reading about food like I am, you’ve probably noticed that the little ball of cabbage is back with vengeance. Taking the world by storm, one dinner plate at a time. Well, so am I! No more sabbaticals for this girl.

Upon my sabbatical, I realized that I wasn’t doing what I loved – entertaining my fabulous readers, even if there are just two of you!  I also realized brussels sprouts are divine especially paired with succulent bacon and a ting of balsamic vinegar.

Here is a quick lowdown on what’s been happening in the land of Evie. I was laid off. Then, I was given a temporary two months to figure out if there was another role for me within the company. There was not. So here I am. Back like the brussels sprout in the land of the unemployed.

I have a bevy of travels to share with you including an incredible trek to Steamboat Springs, Colorado and a recent rendezvous to Lambertville, New Jersey. In due time, my fellow confidants. For now, enjoy the wee little ball of cabbage.

Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Inspired by: http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2012/03/brussels-sprouts-with-bacon-and-raisins

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 thick slices bacon, chopped
  • brussels sprouts (about 1 pound), trimmed, halved
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped onion
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup low-salt chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Heat oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add bacon and cook, turning occasionally, until crisp, about 5 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer bacon to paper towels to drain. Let cool.

While bacon cools, add brussels sprouts to drippings in skillet; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring often, until well browned in spots and beginning to soften, 5–7 minutes. Reduce heat to low and add onions, vinegar and butter; cook, stirring often, until onion is soft, about 3 minutes. Add broth to skillet; increase heat and bring to a boil, scraping up browned bits from bottom of pan. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until broth has evaporated, 1–2 minutes. Stir in crumbled bacon. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    February 24, 2012 6:06 pm

    We missed you!! And I just bookmarked that recipe the other day when I got my new BA.

  2. February 24, 2012 9:10 pm

    Thank you for following your passion. I was just looking at a bag of frozen brussell sprouts in my freezer now I have a recipe. I bet even my picky two year old will love them. Grace

Leave a Reply

