Skip to content

Taco Fiesta for Two

March 20, 2012

What do you get when you combine a pound of ground turkey, celery, orange pepper, chopped onion, two tortillas and two hard taco shells?

A taco face! That’s what you get.

This is how I use ingredients in my fridge so I do not have to take another trip to the trenches of the nether world grocery store. First, I make a taco face with the ingredients while laughing out loud at myself. Then, I take the meat I have in the freezer, add as many vegetables I have on hand, stir in some sort of seasoning and it’s an instant taco fiesta for two, margaritas included. Olé!

Tip: If you’re cooking for just one or two people, you can freeze tortilla shells (soft ones are easier to freeze and defrost) so I almost always have a few tortillas in the freezer. This is not rocket science. This is just a dumb brilliant recipe I concocted so I could avoid a trip to the depths of hell supermarket.

Ok, I will stop with the strikethrough feature. Isn’t it genius though? I can totally say what’s on my mind without having to apologize for it. I’m also easily entertained. I’m the type of person who makes faces out of tortilla shells.

On a separate note, I finally took the plunge and upgraded my WordPress account. It was difficult to actually have to pay money being unemployed and all, but then I received an email from one of my two readers that said, “Love following the blog.”

Thanks for following two readers! You keep me truckin’. You make my cloudy days turn bright. You put the color in my rainbow. You’re the icing on my cupcake. You put the bang in my chitty chitty bang bang.

Ohh, now we’re talking dirty.

Buenos dias, mis amigos.

Tacos

  • 1/2 cup of chopped celery, onion and pepper, each
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning

Heat one tablespoon of olive oil. Add chopped celery, onions and pepper to skillet. Saute for about 5-6 minutes. Add turkey burger. Simmer until chopped and browned, another 8-9 minutes. Add taco seasoning and stir. Serve atop of tortilla and/or taco shells. Top with cheese.

Yes, that’s a margarita in the background. Yes, the highball is supposed to be crooked.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

